Japanese Literature Challenge #3

japanese_lit3

My blogging friend @ Dolce Bellezza has announced the start of her 3rd Japanese Literature Challenge. This is such an elegant challenge, I can’t resist joining even though my reading has slowed down and I’m way overextended with reading challenges (it’s only time!).  The rules are very simple this time, and so I will start with one book, and perhaps read more than that as time allows.  Thank you, Bellezza, for hosting another round of this challenge!  I know I’ll enjoy it – again!

This year, all you have to do is read one work of Japanese origin. It can be literature of course, but don’t feel confined to that. You may choose to read poetry, biographies, short stories or even manga. If you are willing to read one such piece, you’ve met the challenge. If you read more, all the better.

I have set the time frame between July 30, 2009 and January 30, 2010.

I’m starting this challenge with a book from my shelf called The Revenge of the Forty-Seven Samurai, by Eric Christian Haugaard. I have others on my shelf that call to me, too, so we’ll see what else I may add to the list for this challenge!

5 thoughts on “Japanese Literature Challenge #3

  1. Robin Post author

    Thanks, Chris. Bellezza made it too nice and easy to resist! This has been my worst reading summer in ages, although I have read some really good books. I’ve just been so busy with other things. I’m glad I’m not the only one in slow motion.

    Bybee…I couldn’t resist the temptation, although I’m really trying to complete the many challenges I signed up for this year (went way overboard).

    John, it does sound good, doesn’t it.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Suzanne L.

    Well, I can’t wait to see what you read for the challenge! I am new to the Japanese Literature genre, but Bellezza did make it so much fun to join in I decided join in too! I’ll be looking forward to your review of The Revenge of the Forty-Seven Samurai if you chose that one, since I have yet to hear mention of it! What’s also nice about the challenge is finding new blogs to enjoy, which is how I found your blog!

    Suzanne

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment