The Dark is Rising…

2-darkisrising1

It’s a busy week for me, but I thought I’d take a minute and share my current reading project and my new knitting project.  I’m listening to the audiobook versions of Susan Cooper’s The Dark is Rising Sequence.  I really enjoyed Over Sea, Under Stone last week, and when I finished it I immediately started on the next book, The Dark is Rising. It’s quite different from Over Sea, Under Stone … much darker and with only one of the characters from that book … but I enjoyed it very much.  As I mentioned in a previous post, I listen to audiobooks whenever I’m in the car, no matter how short the ride, so my neighbors may have been wondering why I’m just sitting in the car in the driveway, instead of getting out and carrying the groceries into the house.  They can’t see that I’m waiting for a chapter to end, or for a particularly good part of the adventure to come to a natural break.  

I also listen to audiobooks while I knit (if the pattern isn’t too complicated). So here’s my new project, which I may have to call my “Dark is Rising Scarf.” I’ve been on a scarf-knitting binge since the first of the year, and have enjoyed knitting four different scarves for family and friends.  This new one is for me! I love the color, love the feel of the yarn (Berroco “Bonsai”), and love knitting on it while listening to such a good story!  

New knitting project...

New knitting project...

6 thoughts on “The Dark is Rising…

  1. Nan

    I have very warm memories of reading this to our son. He really enjoyed the books. As for me, just like with the L’engle books, I like them best when the fantasy element isn’t there- when they are home or on vacation or whatever. :<) I recall a seaside town that I liked a lot.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin

    Nan, I did love those descriptions of Cornwall in the first book!

    Nymeth, I’m really enjoying listening to the series. Started Greenwitch today!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Kailana

    I took your idea and got my very first audio book from the library! It’s of course scratched and skips constantly! Somehow I don’t think my new project is working out so well! lol

    I have to really read these books. I have only read the first one at this point.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin Post author

    Oh darn it, Kailana. I’ve run into that problem with CDs from the library, too. More often than not I just go with the audiotapes so I don’t have that problem. It’s really nice when it works, and you can just listen and enjoy. It’s not worth it when there are damaged CDs to worry about. Does you library have e-Book versions of the books?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment