Exploring Dewey’s Blog

I have a lot of blogs I love to visit, and I really prefer to go directly to each blog to see what’s new, although I do appreciate my Google Reader that lets me know when a new post comes up. But with our busy, hectic lives, we seldom spend very much time on each other’s blogs. I’ve been spending a lot of time over at Dewey’s blog, trying to decide which books I would like to read for the Dewey’s Books Reading Challenge. It’s incredible to spend in-depth, extended time with a blogger, going back to the beginning and exploring years of interesting posts! I’m finding that it’s a quiet, lovely way of honoring the spirit of Dewey and her passion for books and for life. Her blog is full of life and passion, and that’s the way I want to remember her.

Some of her books I’d like to read:

1. Everything is Illuminated, Jonathan Safran Soer
2. The Common Reader, by Alan Bennett
3. The Wizard of Earthsea, Ursula K. LeGuin
4. The People of the Book, Geraldine Brooks
5. Beatrix Potter, A Life in Nature, Linda Lear
6. Einstein’s Dreams, Alan Lightman
7. The Book Thief, Marcus Zusak

7 thoughts on “Exploring Dewey’s Blog

  1. Kailana

    Everytime I see a list I see a book I missed on my read through! I have owned that Beatrix Potter book since it first came out and STILL haven’t read it!

    It’s also nice to see people that still haven’t read The Book Thief, then I can see I am not alone!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin

    Thanks, Nymeth. It was almost impossible to narrow it down to these choices. She was a prolific reader!

    Kailana, it’s going to be fun to read all the reviews for this challenge! It’s such an enormous choice pool! I’ve had The Book Thief on my list forever, and thought I was the last person on earth to get around to reading it. I’m glad I’m not alone, too!

    Me, too, J.Danger! It’s a gold mine of ideas.

    Thanks, Chris. It’s nice to be able to spend time there, isn’t it.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Bellezza

    The more I blog with someone, or spend time at their blog, the more I wish I knew them in real life. I’m participating in this challenge, too, to honor Dewey’s life. Your choice of Beatrix Potter sounds extra good to me.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin

    Bellezza, I’m so glad you are joining us for this Challenge. I’ve been wanting to read that Beatrix Potter biography for some time, so this is the perfect time for it…in memory of Dewey.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment