On Having Time to Smell the Roses

the_soul_of_the_rose

My husband and I retired in July of this year. We are slowly adjusting to this new stage of life, and are starting to realize that we actually have  time to do some of the things we couldn’t do before. And we have time to get back to some things that we left off because of the frenetic pace of our work lives. For me, that means that I am now able to get back to knitting projects, long walks, some gardening, and the kind of relaxed reading I did before the pace of life got crazy on us. It feels like a reward for all that hard work! It feels like “coming home” again…to myself.

Yesterday, I spent some time looking at the books on our numerous bookshelves. As we prepared to move into our new home in July, we seriously culled our collection of books. We donated almost a thousand books to our local library…but we still have too many books! The ones we still have, however, were worth the pain of packing and loading into a U-Haul, and carting 220 miles to our new home. And it’s a wonderful collection of books to read!

me_reading-sm

So I decided to make a list of books I’d like to read or re-read now that I actually have some serious reading time. I used to love reading the classics, so I’ll start with a list of 50 Classics that have been patiently waiting for me on our bookshelves, and I will put a link to this list on the sidebar of my blog. In all honesty, I won’t promise to write a review of each book I read, but I’ll provide a link to any reviews I write and a date-finished for those not reviewed.

What a delight to have some time to ‘stop and smell the roses’…and, in my case, to get back to more reading!

My 50 Classics List:

Alcott, Louisa May Eight Cousins
Alcott, Louisa May Rose in Bloom
Allende, Isabel The House of the Spirits
Alvarez, Julia In the Time of Butterflies
Adichie, Chimamanga Ngozi Half of a Yellow Sun
Austen, Jane Persuasion
Austen, Jane Sense and Sensibility
Baum, L. Frank The Sea Fairies
Berry, Wendell Hannah Coulter
Bowen, Elizabeth The House in Paris
Bradbury, Ray Dandelion Wine
Bronte, Anne The Tenant of Wildfeld Hall
Bronte, Charlotte The Professor
Buck, Pearl S. Sons
Buck, Pearl S. A House Divided
Burnett, Francis Hodgson The Land of the Blue Flower (read November 2014)
Cather, Willa Death Comes for the Archbishop
Chandler, Raymond The Big Sleep (read February 2016)
Chesterton, G.K. The Innocence of Father Brown
Collette Claudine’s House
Conrad, Joseph The Secret Agent
Dahl, Roald The BFG (read October 2014)
Dickens, Charles Three Ghost Stories
Dinesen, Isak Winter’s Tales
Doyle, Sir Arthur Conan The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes
du Maurier, Daphne My Cousin Rachel
Durrell, Gerald Marrying Off Mother, and other stories
Gibson, William Neuromancer
Godden, Rumer Coromandel Sea Change
Graham, Kenneth The Wind in the Willows (read January 2014)
Greene, Graham Travels with my Aunt
Grey, Zane The Rainbow Trail
Gunther, John Death Be Not Proud
Hardy, Thomas A Pair of Blue Eyes
Holtby, Winifred South Riding
Hudson, Henry Green Mansions
Jewett, Sarah Orne Country of the Pointed Firs
Kipling, Rudyard The Jungle Book
Kundera, Milan The Unbearable Lightness of Being
Mahfouz, Naguib Arabian Nights and Days
Malraux, Andre Man’s Fate
Marquez, Gabriel Garcia One Hundred Years of Solitude
Pyle, Howard The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood
Pym, Barbara Some Tame Gazelle
Pym, Barbara No Fond Return of Love (read November 2014)
Remarque, Erich Maria All Quiet on the Western Front
Salinger, J.D. The Catcher in the Rye
Sandburg, Carl Rootabaga Stories
Smith, Betty A Tree Grows in Brooklyn
Twain, Mark The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn

NOTE:  I noticed that many of my blogging friends have lists of Classics on their blogs, too. Investigating, I discovered The Classics Club, and since this list is right in line with that self-challenge, I will provide a link to that site even though I haven’t joined up yet.

classicsclub-1 .

3 thoughts on “On Having Time to Smell the Roses

  1. Nan

    1000 books donated!! I’ve not actually counted mine. I should. I bet I’d be surprised. I’ve read Little Women so many times I know it by heart. I reread Eight Cousins not too long ago, and liked it. Pretty soon your grandson will be old enough for you to read The BFG to him. I really love it, and Danny the Champion of the World. I am also a big fan of Country of the Pointed Firs. I’ve read it several times. I read Wind in the Willows a few years back with an online group of friends, and still have all my postings about it. Lovely book. I have Dineson’s Out of Africa which I haven’t read yet. Have fun with your reading list! Oh, and I love that little pic of you and your books.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

