Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!

“So the writer who breeds more words than he needs, is making a chore for the reader who reads.”   ~Dr. Seuss

Today is the birthday of “Dr. Seuss.”  We will celebrate the extraordinary life and achievements of Theodor Seuss Geisel by doing some special reading today in my classroom, and in classrooms across the nation, as part of the NEA’s annual Read Across America program. Enjoy your reading today, dear friends, in memory of a wonderful writer (and human being!).

7 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Dr. Seuss!

  1. Kay

    Robin, love your new flowers! I love Dr. Seuss. My daughter’s favorite was Green Eggs and Ham and we called her “Sam I am” for quite a while. Happy Birth to Dr. Seuss!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Bellezza

    I think it’s so strange that I don’t like Dr. Suess as much as most of the education world. My kids love him, and I can smile at The Cat in The Hat, but the rest of his stuff rather drives me crazy. Too cutsey, I think, even though he’s a magician with words.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Kay Guest

    Hello! Thank you for remembering Dr. Seuss on his birthday. I love all his books. His wonderful gentleness and concern for the environment are sorely needed at this time. His playful wordplay is marvelous!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin Post author

    Thanks, Kay! Green Eggs and Ham was a family favorite here, too. We love his stuff.

    Bellezza, I can understand your feeling, and if it had been anyone other than my sweet Grandboy asking me to read the Cat in the Hat over and over again…it would have driven me crazy! But he loved it so much, and I totally got into it through his 2-year old fascination with it.

    Hi Kay Guest. The three things you mention about him (his gentleness, his concern for the environment, and his marvelous wordplay) are exactly why I celebrate his life today. He does something magic for children.

    Bybee, I’d be interested in reading a biography about him. I’ll have to look for it at my library. I know very little about him, really.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Robin Post author

    Oh yes…our kids had it memorized, too, and loved to “read” it. The Grandboy will correct us now, if we read a word wrong in his favorite book(s).

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

