Reading to Learn

My reading has seriously slowed down over the last few months due mostly to the starting of another school year, having a student teacher along with that new school year, and life in general taking off in many different directions.  But I AM reading … but I’m mostly reading to learn right now.

So here are some of the things I’ve been reading and learning about:

338-1

The Daily 5: Fostering Literacy Independence in the Elementary Grades, by Gail Boushey and Joan Moser. I’m so excited to be putting this system to work in my 2nd grade classroom!

Click here to learn more about The Daily 5.

LoveandLogic

Love and Logic Magic for Early Childhood, by Jim Fay and Charles Fay.  I’m wanting to be an intelligent and informed Grandma!

Click here to learn more about Love and Logic.

eating_gluten_free_shreve_stockton

Eating Gluten Free, by Shreve Stockton.  My beautiful daughter is now on a gluten free diet…a huge change in her life…and I want to be as knowledgeable and supportive as possible.

Click here to learn more about Celiac Disease and the need to be gluten free.

7 thoughts on “Reading to Learn

  1. Robin Post author

    Kailana, so true. I’m enjoying this reading, but miss my summer reading freedom and my time for challenges, etc.

    Wordlily, I’m amazed at how many people must eat gluten-free now. There’s a lot to learn in the beginning, when you first make this change, but there also seems to be a very supportive community out there to help.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Charles

    A few weeks ago I caught just a bit of an interview on National Public Radio with a woman who was a long time teacher. She wrote a book called “You can’t say you can’t Play.” Apparently her rule in her class (kindergarten? 1st Grade?) was that no child or group could refuse to let another join in play with them. I was driving and only heard part of it, but according to the author the children, though resistant to it at first, came to accept the rule and find it comforting.

    Have you ever heard of this book?

    Like

    Reply
  3. Les in NE

    We sell a lot of copies of The Daily 5. It must be pretty popular with educators.

    I’m constantly amazed at how many gluten-free books there are out there now, as compared to just two years ago! I think more and more people are being diagnosed for something they’ve suffered with for many years. What a relief for them to finally understand the reason for their suffering. I don’t have celiac, but I’ve been following Gluten-Free Girl’s blog for almost 3 years now. She has some delicious-sounding recipes. You can find her here:

    http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/index.html

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

