Coming Up For Air

coming up for air

For the last four weeks, I have been immersed in another world!  Those weeks have been incredibly busy for me, and I have by necessity neglected my reading, my blog, and my blogging friends. I started back into school, which is always an intense time, but this year added a student teacher to the mix.  She has been a wonderful help in the classroom and is going to be an outstanding teacher, but that process has added a great deal of time to my normal teaching day. I’m not complaining because I believe this is such an important way for me to give back to the profession that I love, but…I’m tired and I’m ready to get back to a more normal schedule (moderately busy instead of intensely busy)!

So I am coming up for air this weekend: reading, writing a few posts, visiting blogs…  And I wanted to let everyone know that I’m still here even though my reading and posting has slowed down!

12 thoughts on “Coming Up For Air

  1. Kristen M.

    I suppose that the priority should be with the job that you get paid for? 😉

    By the way, I’ve just gotten through the first set of discs of Foyle’s War (which you recommended to me at the time I read the Guernsey book) and I ADORE it! I think Sam is the most awesome girl ever. Thank you so much for bringing that show to my attention!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Post author

    Thanks, Kailana. I’ve been fighting a head cold all weekend (I’m winning the battle), which is what happens to me when I get too tired. So, it’s my body telling me to slow down a bit a get back to reading!

    Stacybuckeye, I’ll think of it as a compliment that she trusted you to take over her room so quickly — instead of taking advantage of someone that could give her some freedom. I hope she was there enough to give you good feedback and lots of ideas??! It really should be a mentoring role…hmmmm.

    Kristen M., the pay doesn’t really match to workload because there’s so much to do at the first of the year. The first 4 weeks are incredibly intense, and then (after Curriculum Night) there’s a sigh of relief that everyone feels, and we get on with the year at a normal level of intensity. But it definitely IS time to get back to reading, blogging, and real life!

    Thanks, Bybee! Yes, you do know how it feels!

    Thanks, Kim. I hope to have more reading and blogging time now. I’ve missed so much in the last 4 weeks!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Shanra

    Goodness what a busy time… (And to think I willingly want to try and go into the same kind of job. ^-~)

    But I’m glad to hear you’re still around and just busy! (Though sad to hear you’ve a head-cold. I suppose it doesn’t make you feel any better if I commiserate and tell you my whole family’s suffering from a cold too… True, though. I’m actually dreading going into work today because my voice is… not terribly good at the moment. *ramble*)

    Take care! ^-^

    Like

    Reply
  4. Les in NE

    Gorgeous photo!!

    I’m glad you’re settling back into your blog. I’ve been checking back every day. 🙂

    I, too, have been fighting a cold and I’m still winning. I keep telling myself that as much as I want to stay up reading (and blogging), I really need my sleep. This winter could be brutal with all the bugs going around. Working retail is probably just as risky as teaching. All those germs! I keep washing my hands and using sanitizer. I hope that’s going to do the trick. I didn’t catch a single cold last year.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Robin Post author

    Thanks, Shanra. I’m pretty much over my cold now, and I hope you and you family are feeling much better, too. I’m pleased you’re thinking of going into teaching. We need you…and even though it’s exhausting and a rather germy place to spend your days, it’s a wonderful job.

    Thanks, Cath. I’m feeling much better this weekend. I didn’t take the photo myself, although I have seen the orcas in those waters here in the Puget Sound area.

    Thanks, Les. I’m much better this weekend, and I hope you are, too! You’re right–working retail is as germy as being in a classroom, and maybe even worse! People go after books when they’re sick, and you can’t send them to the office to check to see if they have a temperature, then call their Moms and send them home!! Take care!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

