Ready, Set, Go!

our_classroom

It’s been a lovely summer, with time to relax and recover, and enough time to replenish the supply of enthusiasm and energy it takes to meet a new group of kids and start another intensive school year.  My teacher meetings are over, my room is ready, and I am so excited to see the second graders tomorrow!

Before summer officially ends for me, though, I want to reflect a little bit on my summer reading. It slowed down this summer because I was busier than usual — road trips, classes, visits to friends and family, and lots of knitting.  But the reading I did was very enjoyable!

  1. The Whispering Land, by Gerald Durrell
  2. Good Masters, Sweet Ladies: Voices from a Medieval Village, by Laura Amy Schlitz
  3. Silver on the Tree, by Susan Cooper
  4. Alex and Me, by Dr. Irene Pepperberg
  5. The King’s Equal, by Katherine Paterson
  6. Running in the Family, by Michael Ondaatje
  7. The Mutiny on the Bounty, by Patrick O’Brien
  8. American Born Chinese, by Gene Luen Yang
  9. The Higher Power of Lucky, by Susan Patron
  10. The Snow Goose, by Paul Gallico
  11. The Matisse Stories, by A.S. Byatt
  12. Kira-Kira, by Cynthia Kadohata
  13. Perfect Example, by John Porcellino (not reviewed…)
  14. A Fatal Grace, by Louise Penny (not reviewed…)
  15. James Herriott’s Treasury for Children: Warm and Joyful Animal Tales (not reviewed…)
9 thoughts on “Ready, Set, Go!

  1. Anonymous

    Your classroom looks so bright, cheery, welcoming and fun! I hope your first day is a smashing success. My boys were suppposed to start today, but unfortunately, we live in Kent, and our teachers have gone on strike. 😦 I think it is going to be a long one too.
    *smiles*
    Kim

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin Post author

    Thanks, Chris! I’m so excited…I hope I can sleep tonight.

    Thanks, Kim! I do hope, for everyone’s sake (teachers and students and parents), that the strike is over very quickly. It’s so hard for everyone involved.

    Like

    Reply
  3. booklogged

    Your classroom looks so welcoming. I want to be a second-grader again for just a few minutes. Can I come and listen to a story? Hey, that’s a good idea – I’d have to visit the NW, wouldn’t I?

    I want to know about the goose and the red boxes on each desk. And I look forward to your review of A Fatal Grace. I’m ready to start on book 4 in this series. Love it.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin Post author

    Hi Tabor, you definitely know how busy this time of year can be! It’s been a good beginning to the new school year, and I have a really bright and enthusiastic class, so we should have a lot of fun this year!

    Thanks, Mom!!

    Thanks, Booklogged! You can come and visit any time! The NW is so lovely at this time of year! Come visit! The goose lamp is my daughter’s from when she was a baby. She’s kindly letting me borrow it until such a time as she might need it… And those are red sacks on the desks — they contain a collection of little gifts I give the kids on the first day (a nice eraser, fancy pencil, a special bookmark, a highlighter, some stickers, that sort of thing.) The red really brightened up the room.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

