Team Building

staff

This is a week of teachers’ meetings for me marking the beginning of the 2009-2010 school year. Our new students will arrive next Tuesday, but this week is traditionally spent in meetings about new curriculum, new district procedures, etc. My staff did something unusual this year. Yesterday, instead of sitting in the library at school for all-day meetings, we met at a location in the forest near Snoqualmie, Washington, (a 40 minute drive from Seattle), for a day of team building and challenges.

The organization that lead us through these mental and physical challenges is called Challenges Northwest. Our large staff (including our Instructional Assistants and office staff) was divided into 4 teams, and each team had to work through a series of physical challenges. None of these challenges was dangerous, but it was not possible to accomplish each task unless the entire team worked together. There was a tremendous amount of problem-solving and communication that had to be done, and then we actually had to perform the task. It was hard work, but terrific fun!  And at the end of the day, we all came back together for one final challenge — a “Rock-Paper-Scissors” tournament.  Who would have known that Yours Truly had any talent with that game? I was shocked to find myself the Grand [rock-paper-scissors] Master of P.K. Elementary School!

What a fun and powerful way to bond with teammates and start the new school year!

wings

6 thoughts on “Team Building

  1. Lois

    What a terrific starting! Out in nature. No walls to close you in. And soar you did, Robin. Such an achievement. Your students will love it.
    lois

    Like

    Reply
  2. stacybuckeye

    Congratulations on your new title! Whenever my husband and I feel too lazy to do a necessary chore we rock, paper, scisssors for it 🙂 Maybe you can gicve me some tips so I always win!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin Post author

    Mom, it was such a fun and positive way to start our school year! It set a really nice tone for the year.

    Thanks, Stacybuckeye! I am so totally surprised that I won! But I’m pleased as can be about the title. “RPS-Champ” is what my friends are calling me now.

    Tara, it was a great experience and has set a very nice tone for the year with our whole staff (new and old).

    Bybee, that’s so interesting! I’ll have to share that piece of information with my students. I like the idea of settling things that way!

    Kathrin, I’m so glad you found my blog. And, oh, I love being called “Great Master!” Thanks! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

