Audiobook Challenge Completed

audio_book_challenge

The Grey King, by Susan Cooper, was my 12th audiobook of 2009, and that means I have completed J.Kaye’s Audiobook Challenge. Here is a listing of the books I listened to for this challenge. As I did with her Support Your Local Library challenge, I grossly underestimated how many books I could listen to in a year. I could have set a much higher goal, but I enjoyed this challenge and look forward to it again next year. Thanks, J. Kaye!

Audiobook Challenge, 2009

  1. A Wizard of Earthsea, by Ursula K. Le Guin (narrated by Rob Inglis)
  2. The Audacity of Hope, by Barack Obama (narrated by himself)
  3. Rumpole and the Penge Bungalow Mystery, by John Mortimer (narrated by Bill Wallis)
  4. The Devil’s Arithmetic, by Jane Yolen (Narrated by Barbara Rosenblat)
  5. The Uncommon Reader, by Alan Bennett (narrated by himself)
  6. The Lost Painting: The Quest for a Caravaggio Masterpiece, by Jonathan Harr (narrated by Campbell Scott)
  7. Zel, by Donna Jo Napoli (narrated by Alexandra O’Karma)
  8. The Ice Queen, by Alice Hoffman (narrated by Nancy Travis)
  9. Over Sea, Under Stone, by Susan Cooper (narrated by Alex Jennings)
  10. The Dark is Rising, by Susan Cooper (narrated by Alex Jennings)
  11. Greenwitch, by Susan Cooper (narrated by Alex Jennings)
  12. The Grey King, by Susan Cooper (narrated by Richard Mitchley)
5 thoughts on “Audiobook Challenge Completed

  1. Robin Post author

    Kailana, that’s so frustrating. The same thing has
    happened to me, too, and I’ve just ended up finishing it by reading the actual book. But when it works, and it’s a good performance, it’s a terrific experience.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Tabor

    I used to listen to audio books on my drive to work, but found I got to work and didn’t remember the trip at all! It was a little scary.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin Post author

    Tabor, that is scary! My mind does a different weird thing when listening in the car. When I finish an audiobook, I can remember exactly where I was on route for any particular part of the book. Rereading a paragraph will take me back to a place on the road…

    Thanks, Tamara. I enjoyed listening to each of them, but I think the best was Alan Bennett reading his book, The Uncommon Reader. His reading of his own humor was great.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

