Weekly Geeks: Historical Fiction

One of the things I loved about teaching 6th grade for sixteen years was teaching our Middle Ages unit each spring. Reading anything regarding Medieval times has been a fascination for me for all those years, so I was happy to see that the Weekly Geeks topic for this week is:

Is there a particular era that you love reading about? Tell us about it–give us a book list, if you’d like. Include pictures or some fun facts from that time period, maybe link to a website that focuses on that time. Educate us. 

Do you have a favorite book that really pulled you back in time, or perhaps gave you a special interest in that period? Include a link to a review of it on another book blog if you can find one (doesn’t have to be a Weekly Geek participant).

Among my favorite books that take place during Medieval times, are the Brother Cadfael series of mysteries by Ellis Peters (Edith Pargeter). They completely transport me to the 1100s, Shrewsbury, England. The mysteries are compelling, and the authenticity of setting is incredible. It’s like you are there!

I’ve written about these my love of these books before, so you can read that post here. And here’s another interesting link to follow: In the Footsteps of Brother Cadfael

11 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks: Historical Fiction

  1. claire

    Ooh.. love these. My post is also on the Middle Ages, but have never heard of these books you mention before. I’ve been asking for recommendations and these are definitely what I need. Thanks! 😀

    Like

    Reply
  2. Amanda

    Oh that’s so cool you teach about the Middle Ages. I’m not sure what’s appropriate for 6th graders but for you, I’d recommend Doomsday Book by Connie Willis. Or for a non-fiction book, try The World Lit Only By Fire by William Raymond Manchester. An amazing book.

    Like

    Reply
  3. raidergirl3

    I loved the Cadfael books when I read them years ago and i always recommend them as a mystery series to people.
    Pillars of the Earth is that general time period, give or take a few hundred years.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Maree

    Oh, Brother Cadfael. I love those books; I always got a great sense of peace from the descriptions of his shed, and herb garden. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  5. Robin

    Claire, if you haven’t read these, you’re in for a treat. I’d love to have them all to look forward to for the first time again!

    Amanda, I loved Connie Willis’s Doomsday Book, but I’ve never heard of the other one. It sounds like one I’d really like, so I’m putting it on my TBR list. Thanks!

    Nymeth, they’re light and fun, and very well done.

    Raidergirl3, I’ve put Pillars of the Earth on my TBR list. Thanks!

    Thanks for the info, Val. I know I would LOVE to listen to them!

    Maree, that’s a good way to describe it “a sense of peace from the descriptions…” I really learned a lot about the time period from her.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Iliana

    This is a great weekly geeks post. I need to participate because I love historicals.

    I can’t believe I’ve not read any of the Cadfael series yet but I have watched the BBC productions and they are so good. I hope to read the first book in the series for one of my challenges.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Robin

    Susan, I love mysteries, love reading about the Middle Ages, so these are a perfect fit for me. If you like either of those, you’ll love these books because she did such a great job with them! Enjoy!

    Iliana, I think you’d love her work. These are so much fun and so nicely done. If you loved the TV versions, you will definitely enjoy the books.

    Gavin, yes, I loved Year of Wonders! And thank you so much for the Sisterhood award! I really appreciate it!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

