The Uncommon Reader

This book has been reviewed by many of the book bloggers, so I don’t know that there’s much more I can say about it that hasn’t already been said, except to add that I thoroughly enjoyed Alan Bennett’s delightful novella, The Uncommon Reader. It was a celebration of the joy of reading, and a fun view of the change and growth that reading sparks in all of us. I listened to the audiobook version of the book, narrated by the author himself, which added much to my enjoyment of the story. It’s short, sweet, and a delightful way to spend an afternoon.

So what is this little book about? From the New York Times:

In “The Uncommon Reader” Mr. Bennett poses a delicious and very funny what-if: What if Queen Elizabeth at the age of 70-something were suddenly to become a voracious reader? What if she were to become an avid fan of Proust and Balzac, Turgenev and Trollope and Hardy? And what if reading were to lead her, in turn, to becoming a writer? Mr. Bennett’s musings on these matters have produced a delightful little book that unfolds into a witty meditation on the subversive pleasures of reading.

Click on these links to enjoy a few of the many reviews of this book written by other bloggers:

JenClair (A Garden Carried in the Pocket)

Nymeth (things mean a lot)

Joanne (The Book Zombie)

JC Montgomery (The Biblio Brat)

Dewey (The Hidden Side of a Leaf)

7 thoughts on “The Uncommon Reader

  1. Nymeth

    I’m glad you enjoyed it, Robin! I’ve heard very good things about the audio version. I bet his British accent makes it even more delightful 😀

    Like

    Reply
  2. Molly

    I read this terrific little find over Christmas break and absolutely loved it. I think I need to listen to the audio version however; it sounds like his narration would add even more enjoyment to the story.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin

    Amber, it was a real treat to listen to Alan Bennett read it. I recommend it highly!

    Kailana, me, too. I really didn’t know what to expect when I started it. It turned out to be so much fun.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

