Weekly Geeks: A Quote a Day

This week’s Weekly Geeks meme is a fun one: A Quote a Day for a week!

You may want to come up with a theme, such as favorite passages from books, author quotes, political quotes, quotes about books or reading, humorous quotes, whatever. Or you may not want a theme at all; maybe you just want to gather up seven assorted quotes that appeal to you. You may want to start each of your posts of the week with a quote, or you may want to give quotes posts of their own in addition to your regular posts. It’s all up to you!

As a teacher, I’m always collecting quotes about education that are meaningful to me, and that remind me of the things I think are very important to keep in mind. I write them in the margins of my Lesson Plan Book when I run into them. So this week, my quotes of the day will all have to do with education.

No one has yet fully realized the wealth of sympathy, kindness, and generosity hidden in the soul of a child. The effort of every true education should be to unlock that treasure.
— Emma Goldman
6 thoughts on “Weekly Geeks: A Quote a Day

  1. Sandra

    What a great quote. Something to remind ourselves of every time we’re dealing with a child. I look forward to more of your education quotes during the week.

    Like

    Reply
  2. melissapilakowski

    I love the quote! It’s so hard to remember that in the day to day struggles of teaching, but there is goodness in each child…even the teenagers I teach. Great photo to match with it, too!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin

    Thanks, Sandra. I agree, and that’s why I love to write these in my Plan Books so I can see them all the time and be reminded.

    Thanks, Melissa. I found it when I was still teaching 6th graders. You’re right. It’s an important thing to remember about children of all ages, especially when they enter some of those more difficult stages.

    Susan, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I’m enjoying reading all the different kinds of quotes amongst the WGs.

    Thanks, Claire.

    Thanks, Erika Lynn.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

