Bird Song, 2

Photo by Lee Karney, from the Washington DC Library,
courtesy of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service Digital Library System

I never listen to the Groundhog’s predictions of when Spring will come. For me, the sign of hope is always when I hear the first morning bird song of the season. I heard it this morning after months and months of dark, cold winter and morning silence in the woods outside my house! And it triggered a memory of a little song from my very early childhood: “Spring is coming! How do I know? A little Robin told me so!”

7 thoughts on “Bird Song, 2

  1. Bookfool

    I’m thinking one shouldn’t trust the birdies because we keep creeping up to the 70’s and then it drops right back down to the 30’s. I think we have a red-shouldered hawk nest nearby. They’re sure noisy, these days.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin

    I can’t wait, either, Nymeth. It seems like a very long winter this year and I’ll be so happy for some warmth and more light. I did love that photo, and I realized I needed to add the info on the photographer. Thanks.

    You’re right, Nancy. It’s wishful thinking on my part. We’ve still got a little while to go before I can really celebrate the coming of Spring. I’m just ready right now already!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Kay

    Such a lovely photo. I know you are ready for some light, Robin. I remember how it was up in your area for several months of the year. You can just send some of that rain right on down here to Texas. We have sun but it is so dry allergies have been horrible this year. Lots of winds to stir the pollen around.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin

    Thanks, Kay. Yes, we are definitely ready for some more LIGHT! It’s hard to explain how very dark and gray it is here during the winter months. You definitely know!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

