Stopping By Woods On a Snowy Evening

“To read a poem in January is as lovely as to go for a walk in June.”
~ Jean-Paul Sartre
(I borrowed this quote from Iliana)

Every month, my second grade students memorize and recite a poem. January’s poem is my favorite of the year, and I’ve been wanting to post this audio recording, but had to figure out the technology for doing so. It’s not January any longer, but I do hope you enjoy listening to one of my second graders reciting her “January Poem” (Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening, by Robert Frost.)

5 thoughts on “Stopping By Woods On a Snowy Evening

  1. Scriptor Senex

    That is one of my very favourite poems (can you have a very favourite? – no, but you know what I mean). And it is lovely to hear any poem recited by a child.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin

    SS, oh yes, I know exactly what you mean! And she did a very nice job with it, don’t you think? Not an easy poem for an 8 year old to memorize!

    Tamara, I’m very happy to introduce you to this beautiful poem!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Les

    Marvelous!! This is such a special poem. It’s one of my husband’s and my favorites. I believe I have the same book that your illustration comes from. Isn’t it a beautiful edition? And what a fabulous job your student did in reciting the poem. Well done!!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Iliana

    Ah, that’s wonderful! Thank you for sharing. I don’t remember having to memorize any poems in grade school – maybe, junior high! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

