My First Weekly Geek

wg_book_pile_url5This week’s Weekly Geek is inspired by Dewey’s Knit-a-Long, a mini challenge of Dewey’s Reading Challenge. Dewey had other passions besides reading and blogging. Knitting was one of them. This made me think, what are the Weekly Geek’s other passions?
Here’s this week’s topic:

What are you passionate about besides reading and blogging?  

This is my first time doing the Weekly Geeks, and it’s a special one for me because it is inspired by my Knit-A-Long in memory of Dewey. (A special thanks to Chris for this week’s topic!)

When I have some “free” time, after a day of teaching 7 and 8 year olds, I usually spend it reading, blogging, or knitting. But I do have another passion, and that’s for the arts. I love all kinds of music, am fascinated with art and artists, and adore the theater. And I find that those things are becoming more and more important to me as I get older.

I discovered a long time ago that I can’t live without Music. I grew up in a home filled with music — my parents listened to all kinds of music, we all took music lessons, and my oldest brother is a very talented jazz musician. Growing up with a musician in the house is a powerful experience. I loved listening to him practice whatever instrument he was learning at the time, (except maybe the time he brought home the tuba and practiced it late at night in the room below my bedroom). As a result, I love all kinds of music. Music was imprinted on my soul.

So I put together a “Playlist” of some of my music memories: (The links will take you to youtube videos…and if you actually listen to each one, you’ll know a lot about me!)

First music memory: Ravel’s “Pavane Pour Une Infante Défaunt,” The memory is of my mother braiding my hair and reciting Eugene Field’s “Little Boy Blue” to me. Was the music playing during that hairbraiding session, or did my brain make the connection between the moment, the poem, and the music?

Music I listened to on Saturdays (while doing chores, making cookies, or sewing) while I was growing up: La Boheme, with Renata Tebaldi

A favorite that Mom and I loved/shared while I was living at home: Mahalia Jackson’s “I Believe.

Favorite singer from my year in Argentina: Miguel Saravia singing “Me espera la noche” – aire de zamba by Raúl Tomás”

A favorite from early days with B:Follow” by Richie Havens

Song for my son:Pooh Corner” by Loggins and Messina

Song for my daughter:You Are the Sunshine of my Life” by Stevie Wonder

The song I listened to the most after I lost my Dad: “Here’s To Life” by Shirley Horn. This version is by a very young and talented singer.

Quiet Evenings with B: The entire album “The Melody at Night With You,” by Keith Jarrett. Here’s a favorite: “I Loves You Porgy.”

My Favorite Albums of all time:
Pink Floyd’s “The Dark Side of the Moon
Keith Jarrett’s “The Melody at Night With You
Joni Mitchell’s “Blue

14 thoughts on “My First Weekly Geek

  1. Tasses

    I’m a sporadic Weekly Geeker, but I’ve found some of the best blogs through it! You have very eclectic musical tastes 🙂 I was a musician in high school, but I didn’t keep up with it after marrying and having babies. I really regret that. I met my husband in the high school band. 27 years and counting….

    Happy to add you to my new feeds 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. crazycommamomma

    Welcome to WG and thanks for reading my post! 🙂

    I loved yours… so unique, with the music theme! I hope you’ll join us again next week!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Nymeth

    Lovely post, Robin. I love Blue too! I’m afraid I’m not familiar with the rest of the music you included, but I will check out those youtube videos.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Gavin

    What a wonderful post. I love Richie Havens, Mahalia Jackson and Joni Mitchell, as well as classical music. Sadly,I could never get into opera. Thanks for the “playlist”.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Bogsider

    Great and inspiring list of music. I like how you have included little “stories” with your choices. And welcome to Weekly Geeks :o)

    Like

    Reply
  6. Robin

    It’s nice to meet you, Tasses! Congratulations on those 27 years and counting… That’s a real accomplishment these days. And thanks for adding me to your new feeds!

    Thanks, Maree! I’ve been sitting on the sidelines for all the Weekly Geeks, but it’s time to join in as much as I can.

    Thanks, crazycommamomma! Love that name!

    Thanks, Nymeth. It was fun listening to those pieces again, and especially that Richie Havens song. I’d forgotten how much I like it.

    Thanks, Erika Lynn! WG is such a welcoming group! It’s nice to meet you, and I’m enjoying reading everyone’s posts.

    Thanks, Gavin. We saw him in person, in concert, in the old days! That was a thrill. I hadn’t listened to him for a long time, so it was fun to find a video of him singing “Follow” on youtube.

    Thanks, Bogsider! That’s the fun of putting together a list like that … there are so many stories to tell. I’m having fun going through the WG list and reading everyone’s posts on this topic.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Robin

    Thanks, Chris! And thanks for the mention of the Knit-A-Long.

    Thanks, Bkclubcare. Music is like a soundtrack throughout my life, so there are lots of memories attached to different pieces, and they become very special pieces to listen to later.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Melissa

    Robin — I love music, too. I like the phrase: music was imprinted on my soul. I can totally relate. Thanks for the links, too.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Ruth @ Bookish Ruth

    Great post! I really think that you can tell a lot about a person by the kinds of music they like. You introduced me to some new artists that will be heading to my iPod playlist.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

