Flashback: 40 Years

1969 was the most important year of my life. It was a year of decisions that set me off on the pathway I find myself on now. It was the year I met and married B. — best decision of my life.

This week, as I looked back over my two years of blogging about books, I decided to pull out my old reading record book and see what I was reading in early 1969. My list reveals a number of things about me, such as the fact that I was taking some very interesting classes in college at the time, and about the times we were living in, and about the influence of B on my reading (Cleaver, Salinger, and Dostoevsky were all introduced to me by him). It seems like a pretty “heavy” list, if I may use the lingo of that time … but then it was a pretty “heavy” time, if I remember correctly.

The Autobiography of Malcolm X
Marriage and Morals, by Bertrand Russell
Invisible Man, by Ralph Ellison
Soul On Ice, by Eldridge Cleaver
The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger
Black Rage, by Grier and Cobbs
The Idiot, by Fyodor Dostoevsky
Frankenstein, by Mary Shelley
Death at an Early Age, by Jonathon Kozol
The Brothers Karamozov, by Fyodor Dostoevsky

10 thoughts on “Flashback: 40 Years

  1. Nymeth

    I love Catcher in the Rye and Frankenstein! Those are the only ones I’ve read… I keep meaning to read Ellison and Dostoevsky, though. Some day, some day!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin

    Scriptor, 1969 was quite a year! I’m glad I have my reading record book. I was following in the footsteps of my dad, who kept a record and short synopsis of each book he read. I wasn’t that dedicated…I simply kept a list of books and authors, but I’m glad I have that!

    Debnance, I remember when I read Tom Sawyer and how wonderful it was for me, too.

    Nymeth, I’ve been thinking about rereading The Catcher in the Rye. And I picked up a new copy of Frankenstein for Carl’s Sci Fi Experience, but I don’t know if I’ll have time to read it yet or not.

    Lezlie, which ones are you planning on reading? I’d like to reread a number of them, too.

    Like

    Reply
  3. bkclubcare

    Hi Robin! It’s nice to meet you. Great list of books. (I can say I’ve read a few of these, but not in 1969.)
    And I love that you met and married in the same year – this boasts of short engagement? love it!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Lezlie

    Robin ~ I plan on rereading Malcolm X and Invisible Man in Feb. for Black History Month. I’d also like to read Catcher In The Rye, The Idiot, and The Brothers Karamozov this year. And Bertrand Russell always looks interesting even though I can’t always completely follow his logic. 🙂

    Lezlie

    Like

    Reply
  5. Robin

    It’s nice to meet you, too, Bkclubcare! Yes, it was a short engagement – we met and were married 6 months later. We didn’t think we had much time. The Vietnam War was looming, my husband was waiting to be drafted, and who knew how much time we’d have. It’s been a wonderful almost 40 years and going strong!

    Lezlie, I remember the Bertrand Russell was hard to get through, and I honestly don’t remember a thing about it. The others made bigger impressions on me, though.

    J.Danger…smart ass! 🙂 big smile

    Like

    Reply
  6. Kay

    I’m impressed that you kept a reading log for that long. Sadly, mine begins in 1993. Wish I’d thought of it at a much earlier age because there are times when I want to remember the name of book I read long ago and it’s just on the tip of my tongue….

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

