Sci Fi Sunday

I was going to spend the day reading science fiction short stories for Carl V’s Out of this World mini-challenge, but it turned out to be an unexpectedly busy day. However, I was able to read three short stories by Ursula K. Le Guin from her book A Fisherman of the Inland Sea, and I enjoyed them very much. The first story was a humorous story called “The First Contact with the Gorgonids.” Then I read “Newton’s Sleep,” and finally, “The Ascent of the North Face.”

I particularly enjoyed reading the introduction to this book because Le Guin explains why she likes science fiction:

But what I like about science fiction includes these particular virtues: vitality, largeness, and exactness of imagination; playfulness, variety, and strength of metaphor; freedom from conventional literary expectations and mannerisms; moral seriousness; wit; pizzazz; and beauty.

If I’d have had more time today, I probably would have finished this entire book of short stories because I didn’t want to stop. I’m going to just keep reading it in the next few days and enjoy all her stories.

2 thoughts on “Sci Fi Sunday

  1. Robin

    Nymeth, yes, she is brilliant. I seem to be immersed in her work right now. It just happened…I didn’t plan it that way, but I’m sure enjoying it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

