Farewell, Friend

Some sad news today about one of my favorite authors. Tony Hillerman passed away yesterday afternoon. I have loved his books since I discovered them while working at the King’s English Bookstore, in Salt Lake City in the early 1980s. After finishing all that he had written to that date, I eagerly awaited each new book. It was a reading pleasure that was a constant in my life for all the years since, and how sad to think that he won’t be writing any more.

A few years ago, I decided I was going to reread all his books, and spent the summer immersed in his work. It was one of the nicest summers I’ve ever spent, and I wouldn’t mind doing the same thing again. He’s good for the soul!

So I have to say goodbye to an author I love and respect, but I’ll fondly remember him and the pleasure his stories brought to my life.

From the Archives of this blog, click here to read a very early post I wrote called “ANTICIPATION” about his last book and about how much I admired Mr. Hillerman.

2 thoughts on “Farewell, Friend

  1. Bookfool

    I just read about his death in the paper. I wasn’t shocked by his death, since I knew he was getting up there in years, but I was stunned that he was just listed in the generic famous deaths and there wasn’t even an article about him! He was a big name!! I loved his books, too, although I stopped reading them as often, when I gave up mysteries.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

