Weekend Travels

Letters on a door…
Two hearts forever entwined
By cobwebs and dust.

It was a beautiful Fall weekend for a quick trip to California to visit my mother-in-law, who is living in an Alzheimer’s facility. There are always tender moments during those visits, and some of that feeling was captured in the nostalgic photo above. It was taken at her house which sits empty while awaiting some repairs and updating so that it can be rented or sold.

On Sunday, my husband and I revisited some of our favorite places in the Bay Area, and enjoyed the beauty of an early autumn day before heading back to our busy lives…




12 thoughts on “Weekend Travels

  1. Bellezza

    Oh, Robin, that is such a beautiful picture; and I LOVE the haiku that you wrote. If I may be so bold, I think that you should put your poem underneath the picture. They are just lovely remembrances and thoughts.

    The pumpkins and the beach are two of my favorite things.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin

    Thanks, Bellezza. I wasn’t brave enough to put the little poem under the photo, but with your encouragement, I’ll do it! Thanks!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Nan

    Great shot of the bridge with the fog at the top! The poem and the picture are heartbreaking. Are those your husband’s parents initials?

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin

    Thanks, Nan. Yes, the initials on the door are of my parents-in-law. My husband’s father made them years ago to decorate the garden shed. I thought they were a poignant reminder of the passing of time and of how love endures. I wrote the haiku for Dolce Bellezza’s reading challenge.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Kay

    Brought tears to my eyes, Robin. I totally understand the bittersweet quality of a love story that is now at an end. Hugs to you guys!

    My mom sings to my father when we go visit him at his Alzheimer’s facility and it is so amazing that he can remember words to songs and he can’t always remember that she is his wife and not his mother. She soldiers on though.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Gentle Reader

    I love your photos. The door is lovely, and so is the poem. And I’m from the Bay Area, so I appreciate all the local color. Ah, crossing the Golden Gate Bridge in the fog, there’s nothing like it!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Robin

    Thanks, Kay. You definitely understand how tenderhearted we can be after these visits. I can only imagine how hard is must be on your mother and on your family to have your father going through this. My heart goes out to all of you, especially your Mom.

    And thanks to all of you, too — Tara, Gentle Reader, Nan, Bellezza, and Bookfool for your kind thoughts.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

