That’s What I Love About Reading

Kay, from My Random Acts of Reading, left a comment on my post yesterday about The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. She said that my thoughts on synchronicity reminded her of a wonderful quote from the book. I remembered then where it was in the book, so looked it up. She’s right. It perfectly describes what happens to me so often with my reading, and explains exactly what I, too, love about reading.

That’s what I love about reading: one tiny thing will interest you in a book, and that tiny thing will lead you onto another book, and another bit there will lead you onto a third book. It’s geometrically progressive — all with no end in sight, and for no other reason than sheer enjoyment. 

9 thoughts on “That’s What I Love About Reading

  1. Kay

    Yes, that was it, Robin! Thanks for looking it up. I have loaned my copy to the children’s librarian at work and she is loving it (not surprising) and now my manager is waiting in the wings for it.

    Like

    Reply
  2. ____Maggie

    When I retire, I want my reading to be a year of book travel. One book will lead to the next, and so on…Heck that would make a great challenge. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Nan

    And it goes for reading blogs, too! I’ll be reading along in someone’s blog and the writer will post a link or I’ll see an interesting blog name on the sidebar, and I’m off! I love Maggie’s challenge idea!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin

    Nymeth, it certainly happens a lot in the book blogging world!

    You’re welcome, Kay. Thanks for reminding me of it. There were some wonderful reading quotes in the book that I meant to go back to. That was one of my favorites.

    Maggie, that’s a great idea!!! I think a lot of people would love to sign up for that Challenge! Maybe it could be your winter Challenge, since I love to do your summer Southern Literature Challenge!

    Nan, I agree. It would make a terrific challenge!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Cathy Eichelberger

    I am thrilled with your blog. As an educator and an author of Children’s Literature, it is refreshing to see your ideas on line. Please consider reading my latest book “Good? Grief! ” by Cathy Temple Eichelberger. I think you and all of the readers in your life will enjoy it.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Gentle Reader

    I read this book over my vacation (and just posted a little bit about it) and I underlined this quote, too, while reading! Talk about synchronicity! Really enjoyed the book–perfect vacation read.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

