Dinner Date

Summer, 1874
by Claude Monet

The nicest thing about being on Summer Break is having time to meet the husband in downtown Seattle for lunch or dinner and then go to some special happening that’s in town.

That’s what we did this evening. We had dinner at a sushi bar (yum!) and then spent a couple of hours at the Seattle Art Museum (affectionately known as SAM) visiting the Inspiring Impressionism exhibit. It was a lovely exhibit, and imagine how excited I was when we walked into one room in the gallery and found these three gorgeous paintings! My favorites of the show! Unfortunately, these digital versions just don’t do them justice … seeing them in person is an awesome experience!

Fragonard: A Young Girl Reading, 1776
Mary Cassatt: Mrs. Duffee Seated on a Striped Sofa Reading, 1876

Pierre-Auguste Renoir: La Liseuse (The Reader), 1877
10 thoughts on “Dinner Date

  1. Nan

    Sounds just wonderful. You didn’t happen to see any Edmund Tarbell’s, did you? I’m reading a book on him right now, and I love his paintings.

    Like

    Reply
  2. a.book.in.the.life

    Sounds like a wonderful way to spend an afternoon! Also to comment on your last few posts I am going to check out those McCall Smith books for my class and I love the sound of the Camel book so have added that to my wishlist, thanks!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin

    Hi Nan, I don’t think there were any of Tarbell’s paintings in this exhibit. I looked at some of the online images of his paintings and would love to see them in person! I particularly like that painting you have posted on the sidebar of your blog. I’ll be very interested in reading your review of the book on him.

    Me, too, Nymeth! It was a lovely exhibit … and evening. B has been so busy with a series of deadlines for the project he’s working on, and the ending of the school year was a very intense time for me, so we haven’t had much time recently for such evenings. It was great.

    Hi Book-in-the-Life! I was so excited to find these books, and to discover that he also has a little mystery series for this age group (haven’t read those yet). I can’t wait to introduce my students to Akimbo.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Carl V.

    I absolutely love images, be they paintings, drawings, photographs, of people reading. I think it is the combination of my love of art and love of reading that excites me so when I see stuff like this.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Tara

    How wonderful to have seen these paintings! I love them all.

    I never read Midnight in the Garden…I saw the movie and I think the timing was bad because I didn’t enjoy it. I did like the author’s book set in Venice.

    I really like that sweater you are making!

    Like

    Reply
  6. ____Maggie

    These are amazing! If I had to sit for a portrait, I would hope the artist would allow me to read,too! šŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  7. Robin

    Carl V, me too! I’d seen all three images in books or on the internet before, and that’s why I was so thrilled to walk in that room and see them all together on the wall. They are gorgeous in person!

    Thanks, Tara. This is a fun knitting project, and it’s been ages since I knit a sweater for myself, so I’m really enjoying it.
    I don’t think the movie of “Midnight” was all that great, either. There is so much more to the book, but it’s a pretty quirky story and not for everyone.

    Maggie, the paintings were beautiful. And I’m sure each of the women sitting for these paintings finished at least one book, if not more!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Nan

    I came back to take another look and I think I like the Fragonard the best. It just seems so clear and bright. I envy your visit.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Robin

    Nan, I loved the Fragonard, too. It had an amazing amount of blue in it, especially on the face and the hair. The Renoir doesn’t show up very well in digital photos, looks quite dark, but it was exquisite. It was my husband’s favorite.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

