Gift Card Shopping

My students and their parents were very generous with gifts to me at the end of this school year. I received a number of gift cards — all of them to bookstores! Yesterday, I enjoyed wandering around Barnes and Noble, choosing some books to add to my summer reading list. Impulse shopping, guilt-free! Here’s what I chose:

Soon I will also take my student-generated list and the other gift certificate to our local independent (struggling to survive) bookstore, Parkplace Book Company, and purchase special books for the class library. I’ve made some special “book plates” to stick inside the front of each of those books saying “This book is a gift from the 2007-2008 Second Graders!”

4 thoughts on “Gift Card Shopping

  1. Nymeth

    I haven’t read any of those, but they all sound good. How nice that the class library will get some new books 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Cath

    That’s so weird. I reserved The Camel Bookmobile from the library early in the week and picked it up today. It sounded like a great read.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin

    Nymeth, it’s just so nice to have some uninterrupted reading time! I know I’ll enjoy each of these choices.

    Cath, The Camel Bookmobile is very interesting so far (I’m about 1/2 way through it). I’ll be interested in hearing your thoughts on it, too.

    Maggie, this will be my first Lee Smith, so I’m excited to get to know this author! It was your Southern Reading Challenge that brought her to my attention!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

