Lonesome Dove

B and I must be the only people around that had never seen Lonesome Dove (the 1989 mini-series starring Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones), but thanks to Netflix, we took care of that this weekend. I’m speaking to you now with a Texas drawl (with nothing but respect for the way Texans speak) because we became so completely immersed in the story and watched the entire thing in two days. I didn’t want it to end! I didn’t want to leave that dusty, brutal, beautiful countryside, that incredible time period in history, and those characters! Now, I have to admit that I’ve never read the book, either, so it’s time to remedy that by reading the whole saga! What a fun summer project that would be…

11 thoughts on “Lonesome Dove

  1. Bookfool

    I haven’t read or viewed Lonesome Dove, although I have both the book and the DVD. Silly me. My son has watched the mini-series. I really got it for him.

    Like

    Reply
  2. ____Maggie

    Howdy,
    I bought the book for bookfool’s Chunkster Challenge last year and failed to read it! I’m looking right at it as I type. It haunts me!

    Like

    Reply
  3. NotJustLaura

    Lonesome Dove (the book) is edibly good. I’ve read it a few times and have just Mooched another copy so I can enjoy it all over again!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Gentle Reader

    Don’t you just love Netflix? I haven’t read or seen Lonesome Dove, either, so you’re not the only ones, but I must add them to my Netflix queue, and my ever-growing list of things to read someday!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Daphne

    I recently listed Lonesome Dove as a book that I wish I could read for the first time, again. It was sooooo good, I just adored it. I envy you the opportunity to experience it for the first time in print!!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Megan

    I’ve never seen Lonesome Dove, but the book is among my favorites. Despite its enormous size, it was a quick (and awesome!) read. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Bellezza

    I adored the book Lonesome Dove (having not read it before two years ago, myself) and I bought Comanche Moon which I can’t wait to start this summer. It’ll be fun to talk about later on.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Sam Houston

    I’ve said several times on my blog that “Lonesome Dove” is my favorite book, all-time, and I haven’t read anything yet that’s changed my opinion.

    I’m hoping to read the whole saga sometime this year in “chronological” order rather than the order in which the books were written to see if that is a different experience from having read them as soon as each was published.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Robin

    Bookfool, did your son like the book and/or the series? I’d like summer to come so I can start reading them … I’ve got to finish up report cards and the last 20 days of school first, though.

    Maggie, it would make a great read for a chunkster challenge. I guess it could be my chunkster summer!

    Hi, NotjustLaura! I’m glad you enjoyed it and recommend it. I’m looking forward to reading it.

    Gentle Reader, we are serious Netflix members. We always miss the really good shows and series when they’re on TV, for one reason or another, so Netflix lets us catch up at our leisure. We really enjoy it.

    Hi Daphne, I hope I adore it, too. I love finding books to fall in love with.

    Megan, we really liked the actors in the series. They did a fantastic job, and the cinematography was great. I don’t know how the story compares with the book, but I’m sure I’ll love the book after seeing the series. I’m really looking forward to reading it.

    Bellezza, I’m so glad to hear you adored it, too! I can’t wait to finish school so I can dive into it.

    Hi Sam Houston! I remember you saying that on your blog, and thought of you after watching the series. The idea of reading them in chronological order is very interesting. I wonder if I should read them that way for my first time?

    Like

    Reply
  10. Robin

    Nan, we’re really big Robert Duvall and Tommy Lee Jones fans, so that was the reason we put this on the queue. Then we got caught by the acting, the story, and the cinematography.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

