Maggie’s Southern Reading Challenge

To understand the world, you have to understand a place like Mississippi. –William Faulkner

Maggie (Maggie Reads) has just announced her 2008 Southern Reading Challenge. That means that SUMMER is almost here! Hooray! Her challenge last summer was a highlight of the year for me — the books I read were some of my favorites of the entire year. So I’m delighted that she’s hosting it again, and I’m ready to go!

Maggie’s Rules:

The rules are easy: 3 Southern Setting Books by Southern Authors in 3 Months beginning May 15 through August 15!

My Possibilities:

Watermelon King, by Daniel Wallace
Ballad of the Sad Cafe, by Carson McCullers
The Robber Bridegroom, by Eudora Welty
Remembering, by Wendell Berry
Her Stories, by Virginia Hamilton
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, by John Berendt

3 thoughts on “Maggie’s Southern Reading Challenge

  1. Nymeth

    I loved the challenge last year as well, and that makes not joining again really hard, but the summer will be a bad time for me this year…I’m still pondering, though, and it’s possible that I’ll cave. After all, the worse that can happen is not finishing 😛

    That’s a wonderful list of books! I can’t wait to see your reviews.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Eva

    I’m doing this one again too! I’m reading the McCullers for a different challenge, and I loooved The Watermelon King. Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil was interesting, but I didn’t think it was incredibly amazing or anything. (Maybe my expectations were to ohigh going in)

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin

    Thanks, Nymeth. I hope I haven’t overextended myself too much with my challenges. It’s a crazy time for me right now, but I told myself the same thing: the worst that can happen is not finishing!

    I like your list, too, Eva. I’m sure I’ll love the Watermelon King, because I absolutely loved reading Big Fish last year. It’ll be fun to compare notes on the McCullers.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

