The Non-Fiction Five Challenge

I enjoy reading non-fiction, so Joy’s new challenge, the Non-Fiction Five Challenge, has been calling to me. Am I nuts to take on another challenge while I’m in the throws of the end-of-a-school-year rush? Probably! But I’ve always liked the following quote, and keep it in mind when life get too rushed and there’s too much focus on work:

No matter how busy you may think you are,
you must find time for reading,
or surrender yourself to self-chosen ignorance.
~ Atwood H. Townsend ~

Wouldn’t want that to happen!
Here are Joy’s rules for the Challenge:

1. Read 5 non-fiction books during the months of May – September, 2008.
2. Read at least one non-fiction book that is different from your other choices (i.e.: 4 memoirs and 1 self-help)

Here is a list of non-fiction books already sitting on my shelf, and I’m still looking for a few others to add to my choice pool:

Looking Back: A Book of Memories, by Lois Lowry
The Story of My Life: An Afgan Girl on the Other Side of the Sky, by Farah Ahmedi
The Measure of My Days, by Florida Scott-Maxwell
The Sum of Our Days, by Isabel Allende
Walking in the Beauty of the World: Reflections of a Northwest Botonist, by Joseph Arnette
Shakespeare: The World As Stage, by Bill Bryson
Take Joy: A Book For Writers, by Jane Yolen

4 thoughts on “The Non-Fiction Five Challenge

  1. Nymeth

    yay, I’m glad you’re joining as well. Lois Lowry’s book sounds excellent, and so does Jane Yolen’s. And I’m curious about The Sum of Your Days. Just yesterday I bought My Invented Country because of you, and somehow I can see something of the sort happening again in the future ๐Ÿ˜›

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin

    Nymeth, I wonder how you will like My Invented Country? I enjoy her writing, and I particularly enjoyed her stories about Chile and the Chilean people because of my time spent with their neighbor, Argentina! I look forward to your post about it.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Joy

    LOL I love the Townsend quote!

    Welcome to the Non-Fiction Five Challenge! I don’t recognize any of your choices, but look forward to reading your reviews. Don’t forget to come back and link them. Happy Reading! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

