A Reading Challenge Update

Time to check in on the progress of a reading challenge that ends in the next few days. Melissa’s Expanding Your Horizons Challenge was a very rewarding and enjoyable experience for me! I focused on Hispanic/Latin American authors and read 6 books from my original list of 9 options.

It’s really hard to choose a favorite from the six I read because I liked them all very much. I know I chose well because each book turned out to be a special reading experience for me. Reading Alma Flor Ada‘s two memoirs for young people, and one of her books of folktales, opened up a wonderful communication with her in the comments section of those posts, and that interaction enriched the lives of my 2nd grade students, and this teacher! I was so impressed with Isabel Allende‘s memoir, My Invented Country, and look forward to reading her newly published memoir, The Sum of Our Days. I was completely carried away by W. H. Hudson‘s Far Away and Long Ago, an old classic that touched my heart. And I thoroughly enjoyed reading Short Stories by Latin American Women: The Magic and the Real, because it introduced me to some very talented authors.

I had intended to read 100 Years of Solitude for this challenge, too, but it hasn’t happened yet … I think because I would actually like to save that book for my summer break so that I can read it uninterrupted, like I did with Love in the Time of Cholera.

I want to thank Melissa, at Book Nut, for hosting this terrific challenge. It was a great idea, and I loved the way it was organized so that you could individualize your challenge by focusing on a particular region of the world. Click here if you want to read the reviews of all the participants.
Melissa, I hope you will host it again next year because there’s a whole world of wonderful reading experiences out there, and I’m ready to sign on again and focus on another part of the world!

3 thoughts on “A Reading Challenge Update

  1. Nymeth

    Congratulations on finishing the challenge, Robin! And yes, I think that leaving One Hundred Years of Solitude for when you can devote your full attention to it is a good idea.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Melissa

    Thanks for participating, Robin! I’m so glad you had such a good experience. And I’ll think about hosting it again next year… 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin

    Thanks, Nymeth. When school gets out in June I’m going to spend a few days with the Grandboy and will read One Hundred Years on those lovely afternoons while he naps. Doesn’t that sound like heaven?

    Thanks, Melissa. I’ll look forward to doing it again next year.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

