Once Upon a Time 2

Report cards are done and sent home; parent conferences are completed; Spring is finally arriving; and it’s time for Carl V’s Once Upon a Time 2 Challenge!
I so enjoyed last year’s experience with this challenge, and have been looking forward to this 2nd go-around for quite awhile. Since my Spring Break is coming up the first week of April, I am going to set out on my journey immediately and enjoy myself!
I love the way this Challenge is structured so that you can choose which “QUEST” you will follow in your reading. I have chosen “Quest the First,” in which you read at least 5 books that fit somewhere within the Once Upon a Time 2 criteria. They might all be fantasy, or folklore, or fairy tales, or mythology…or your five books might be a combination from the four genres. I want to read a good mix of genres, and also good mix of classic and modern. 

Here’s my starting place. I also have a list of other possible choices for my Quest because I learned last year that I need to be able to substitute or add other books to my original list as I discover new pathways and new treasures along the way.

Thanks, Carl, for hosting another wonderful challenge! I can’t wait to start reading!

  1. The Wizard of Oz, by L. Frank Baum
  2. 100 Years of Solitude, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  3. Black Ships Before Troy, by Rosemary Sutcliff
  4. Four wonderful authors each wrote an “ecologically-minded story” based on a Brian Froud painting they chose from his Faerieland project. I’m going to read The Wild Wood, by Charles de Lint; The Wood Wife, by Terri Windling; Something Rich and Strange, by Patricia McKillip; and Hannah’s Garden, by Midori Snyder
  5. Book of a Thousand Days, by Shannon Hale
25 thoughts on “Once Upon a Time 2

  1. Carl V.

    So many people are looking to read The Wild Wood that I think I’m going to have to do so as well. I love Windling’s nonfiction articles and her essays and have not tried any of her fiction.

    I’m so glad you’re joining it. It is a pleasure to host such a fun challenge.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Debi

    Paragraph one…sounds like a lot to be happy about!

    Looks like a wonderful list! I have The Wood Wife on my list, too, but I had no idea about the story behind it. How cool!

    I might just have to add Book of a Thousand Days to my list. I just finished The Goose Girl today, and absolutely loved it!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Chris

    I love Brian Froud and had no idea that those books were written around his paintings! That’s so cool! I’m looking forward to The Wood Wife even more now. I’ll have to check out The Wild Wood too…I may even have a copy of that one. I also have a copy of 100 Years of Solitude..what a great choice! I may have to add that one to the list…I’ve been craving more Marquez.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Nymeth

    I didn’t know that The Wood Wife, The Wild Wood and the other two had been written for a project like that! That makes me want to read them even more. I hadn’t read of the Midori Snyder or the Patricia McKillip books, but they sound wonderful.

    I look forward to your reviews!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Melissa

    Lovely list, Robin. Oz has been a family favorite for years (I read many of the series when I was a kid, next to the Little House books, it was my favorite). I’m curious, now, about the books based on the painting. I can’t wait to see what you think about them.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Robin

    Carl, I learned about Terri Windling and Charles de Lint through last year’s OUT Challenge, so I’m really looking forward to reading their books. Looks like lots of us are going to enjoy them!

    Deslily, it’s going to be so much fun reading all the reviews!

    Thanks, Debi, I’m very relieved to be finished with the conferences and report cards for this term, so the timing on starting this challenge is perfect! It will be such a pleasure to have some more time to read, and not have every minute consumed by school.

    I really like both Brian Froud and his wife, Wendy. They are sooooo incredibly creative.

    Nymeth, doesn’t it sound intriguing? I love the idea of each one picking out a painting and then writing about book around it.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Robin

    Ooops, Melissa, we must have been online at the same time. I loved reading The Wizard of Oz to my own kids many years ago, but wanted to read it to my 2nd graders. I’m also really looking forward to reading the books based on Brian Froud’s paintings.

    Like

    Reply
  8. Rhinoa

    That looks like a great list. I wasn;t a big fan of 100 Years, but I know others have really enjoyed it. I found it a little too slow personally. I really need to read The Wizard of Oz, Black Ships Before Troy (I have a version illustrated by the wonderful Alan Lee somewhere), The Wild Wood (I love Charles de Lint) and some of Midori Snyders novels as I love her short stories. I am really looking forward to reading The Wood Wife for this challenge as well. I will be keeping an eye out for your reviews.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Cath

    That’s kind of a unique list, Robin, several I haven’t even heard of. Very much looking forward to reading about all of these.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Pour of Tor

    Wonderful list! I look forward to hearing what you think about “100 Years of Solitude” – I have been meaning to read “Love in the Time of Cholera” ever since I loved “Solitude,” but that was years ago now. I really should get around to it soon.

    Like

    Reply
  11. orchidus

    Nice list! I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on One Hundred Years of Solitude and Book of a Thousand Days. Happy reading and thanks for visiting my blog! :]

    Like

    Reply
  12. Iliana

    It’s so much fun to look at everyone’s lists! I love GGM but found 100 Years of Solitude just daunting. I hope you enjoy it and tell us about it.
    I need to go put my list together 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  13. Bookfool

    I’ve read exactly one of those (100 Years of Solitude). Sounds like a great list. Enjoy! And, Happy Easter, Robin!

    Like

    Reply
  14. Robin

    Jill, I’m glad you’re doing the Challenge, too. I’m heading over to your blog to see what you have chosen to read. I’m looking forward to reading your reviews.

    Thanks, Sally. I’ve started The Wild Wood, and I really like the writing. I can tell I’m going to be a huge de Lint fan!

    Rhinoa, I’ve started 100 Years of Solitude a couple of times before but never got into it. It just wasn’t the right time for me. I’m hoping it’s the right time this spring because I absolutely loved his Love in the Time of Cholera! Also, I’ve been trying for years to find a copy of the version of Black Ships Before Troy with the Alan Lee illustrations. I finally found one through Powell’s Books in Portland, Oregon, and sent for it. It arrived in perfect condition, and I’m in love with the illustrations! I’m so excited to read it.

    Thanks, Cath. I’m looking forward to reading everyone’s reviews, also. It’s a great challenge for finding new and really interesting books. I put the de Lint book on my list because of all the reviews I read about his books in last year’s OUT challenge.

    Jenclair, it’s my favorite reading challenge, too. Wonderfully organized, and amazing exposure to new books and authors!

    Thanks, Pour of Tor! I hope I enjoy 100 years as much as I enjoyed Love in the Time of Cholera. I was so captured by his language in that book.

    Thanks, Orchidus. I love Shannon Hale’s The Goose Girl, so I hope I like Book of a Thousand Days just as much.

    Stephanie, I hope you like The Goose Girl as much as I did. I’m looking forward to your review of it.

    Iliana, I’ve tried to read 100 Years before, but also found it daunting. I hope I can really get into this time. I loved Love in the Time of Cholera, so I’m hopeful.

    Happy Easter to you, too, Bookfool!

    Like

    Reply
  15. Robin

    Thanks, Tanabata. I really enjoyed this challenge last year and reading everyone’s reviews, so I’m really looking forward to repeating that experience.

    Like

    Reply
  16. Booklogged

    Looks like some good reading ahead for you. I appreciate knowing that about Wild Wood. It helps me appreciate the book better.

    Like

    Reply
  17. Framed

    Great list. I can’t wait for your reviews. I just read Book of a Thousand Days and loved it. Shannon Hale rocks. I hope you like it as much as I did.

    Like

    Reply
  18. Robin

    Hi Booklogged, I’m enjoying my reading, even though it’s been awfully busy at work in the last few weeks. I’m just about ready to post about the Faerielands project, and am starting with my review of The Wild Wood. It was my first de Lint, and one of his early works, so I don’t know how it compares to his later books.

    Eva, this Froud project has been a lot of fun, and I highly recommend it! I’m almost ready to post my reviews of the 4 books.

    Thanks, Framed. I’m a new Shannon Hale fan, too! Loved The Goose Girl, so I’m hoping Book of a Thousand Days will be as good.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

