Happy Birthday to a Favorite Author

Yesterday was the 80th birthday of Gabriel García Márquez, one of my favorite authors. ¡Feliz cumpleaños a Gabo!
Two of my favorite quotes by him:
“…human beings are not born once and for all on the day their mothers give birth to them, but…life obliges them over and over again to give birth to themselves.” 

“She discovered with great delight that one does not love one’s children just because they are one’s children but because of the friendship formed while raising them.”

11 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to a Favorite Author

  1. j.c. montgomery

    He is an author that has been on my radar since I read Carlos Ruiz Zafon (as he was compared to the great Marquez)

    After reading those quotes, I definitely will make him my next reads.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Bellezza

    booksprice.com gave me a new copy of his book Love In The Time of Cholera, which unfortunately, I have yet to read. I want to, especially before the film is released. Thanks for the impetus to get going!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Petunia

    Those are beautiful quotes. Coincidentally, I just read the first couple of pages of Love in the Time of Cholera. So far I am in love with the language.

    Like

    Reply
  4. rachele

    Wonderful wise quotes. I feel encouraged and take comfort in them. I really need to read Love in the time of Cholera now!!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Robin

    Nymeth and Chris, yes, we definitely wish him good health and many more writing days.

    I agree with you, Eva. He’s a very interesting writer!

    J.C., I haven’t read any Carlos Ruiz Zafron, but if he’s been compared to GGM, I’d be very interested in reading something by him. Thanks for bringing him to my attention!

    Bellezza, I’ll be interested in hearing how you feel about Love in the Time of Cholera. It hits people in different ways, and it evokes strong responses.

    Petunia, I was captured by the beauty of his language, (which is also a tribute to his wonderful translator). I hope you continue to enjoy the book.

    Rachele, I especially loved that quote about parents and adult children. I’ll loan you my copy, if you’d like.

    Like

    Reply
  6. heather (errantdreams)

    A happy birthday to him, and best wishes for many more.

    Thank you for sharing those wonderful quotes with us!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Robin

    Bellezza, yes, you do!

    Heather, I love those quotes, especially the one about parents and adult children (since I have 2 adult children).

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

