The Rooster Who Went to His Uncle’s Wedding

The Latin American folktale called “The Rooster Who Went to His Uncle’s Wedding” has been a big hit in my second grade classroom. My students love doing Readers Theater, so when the author, Alma Flor Ada, who retold this tale so nicely, commented on my post last week and suggested we turn this story into a play, my students were very excited and full of ideas.

Searching online, I found a Readers Theater script that was perfect for my second graders, written by Jacklyn Moore. My students chose their parts and decided that they wanted to draw their character to hold up as a hand puppet as they performed.

Our project was interrupted by Valentine’s Day and then by Mid-Winter Break, but the students finally finished their puppets and are practicing their parts. Our rehearsals have gone well, their expression and fluency are improving with each reading of the script, and the students are excited to perform this week for our 5th grade buddies.

This has been a wonderful reading project! I was thrilled to have Alma Flor Ada leave comments on my posts, and it was equally exciting for the students to have contact with a real “author friend.” These are the kinds of magical moments that help turn children into passionate readers, and bring such joy to this job.

5 thoughts on “The Rooster Who Went to His Uncle’s Wedding

  1. jenclair

    How wonderful! From beginning to end. From reading a great book, to the comment from the author, to finding a script, to producing the play, to creating the character puppets!

    This post has left me feeling so good (old, retired teacher that I am)!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Nymeth

    What a wonderful experience! It’s one that your students will definitely not forget. Creating character puppets sounds like so much fun! And how nice to interact with the author directly like that 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  3. Bookfool

    How fun! I’m almost envious of your students; I remember how much I adored doing plays based on our reading, in elementary school.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin

    Thanks, Jenclair. It’s so much fun when it all comes together so completely.

    Nymeth, the interaction with Alma Flor Ada was amazing, and the kids just took off flying with her idea of a play.

    Bookfool, I loved plays in school, too, even though I was so terribly shy. I would have loved to do more readers theater, because, for me, it would have taken the stress out of performing.

    Thanks, Booklogged, I love that rooster puppet, too. The kids did a great job of looking at the illustrations and creating their own art from them. I should post a photo of each character. They’re wonderfully creative…which is another thing I love about 2nd grade!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

