RIP II Challenge Completed

With my post yesterday on A. A. Milne’s The Red House Mystery, I celebrate another reading challenge completed! Carl V’s Readers Imbibing Peril II challenge was as much fun as his Once Upon a Time challenge last spring! For this challenge, I chose his “Peril the First,” which was to read 4 books of any length from any sub-genre of scary stories. From my “Peril Pool” I chose to read A Study in Scarlet, by Arthur Conan Doyle; The Woman in Black, by Susan Hill; Strange Happenings, by Avi; The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy, by Tim Burton; and The Red House Mystery, by A. A. Milne. Even though I’ve officially completed the challenge, I’m still in the middle of reading Bram Stoker’s Dracula (which is taking me a lot longer to read than I anticipated); and Charles de Lint’s The Wild Wood is sitting patiently on my nightstand; and Our Man in Havana, by Graham Greene, is downloaded and waiting on my iPod. So I will definitely continue reading and listening to books from this genre. I just ran out of challenge time!

Thanks, Carl, for another very enjoyable reading challenge. You host terrific challenges, and I look forward to your next one, whatever it might be!

7 thoughts on “RIP II Challenge Completed

  1. Chris

    Congrats Robin! Wasn’t this one fun? I’ve finished too, but I haven’t posted my wrap-up post yet because I’m still trying to cram in as many as I can with just two days left! I never want October to end…it’s my favorite month. Loved your selections this year! Can’t wait for the next challenge!

    Like

    Reply
  2. jenclair

    One of my favorite challenges! I finished earlier and have continued reading. Right now, I’m reading another one in this category, but don’t think it will be finished by tonight. Like you, I will continue reading this genre because November is also a good Gothic month, perfectly atmospheric!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin

    Thanks, Chris. Yes, I really enjoyed this one. What’s next, I wonder?

    It was great, wasn’t it, Jenclair! I’ve got so many more on my list that I want to read! I like your description of November as being a good Gothic month.

    Thanks, Chris. Carl hosts terrific challenges!

    Thanks, Jill. I was surprised I was able to get through as many as I did from my list…it’s been such a busy Fall. This made it more enjoyable.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

