Autumn

Fall has been lovely here in the last week, so to celebrate the season and the colors, I’d like to share one of my grandmother‘s poems with you:

Autumn Artistry 

With artistry the Autumn
Has hung a vast display
Of paintings rich with color,
In a riotous array.

Along the slopes and by-ways,
The aspen’s golden hues
Give accent to the maples
In crimson and chartreuse.

Beyond are purple mountains,
With sun-tipped peaks that rise
Above the hills and valleys
To pierce cerulean skies.

This brilliant Autumn showing
Will please you and enthrall,
Just bring a love for beauty,
It is free to one and all.

 

10 thoughts on “Autumn

  1. Kay

    Robin, that is absolutely priceless. Thank you so much for sharing your grandmother’s poem and her story through the link. I was very touched.

    It’s been a bit of a hard weekend for me as we placed my mom (her decision and mine) into assisted living. I needed something like this. Thanks so much!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin

    Thanks, Kay. I’m glad it brought some solace on a difficult weekend. That’s a tough decision to have to come to for both of you, but I’m glad your Mom was able to be part of the decision-making. That will help make the transition and adjustment smoother (for both of you). I wish you both well.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Nymeth

    Beautiful poem and beautiful poems. Last week we also had the most perfect autumn days around here. I just love this time of the year.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Bellezza

    Thanks for sharing the poem! I love hearing from grandmothers, even if they’re not my own, and that poem is beautifully written. The picture almost reminds me of work from Thomas Kincaid; it’s lovely. Don’t you just love Autumn? Aren’t you just so happy 80 degree weather is over?!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Nan -

    I love that poem, Robin. I went to the link and that’s such a nice story. My mother grew up on a farm with 9 siblings. I don’t know how those folks did it. And the beautiful pictures – are they at your house?

    Like

    Reply
  6. Robin

    Thanks, Maggie!

    Hi Nymeth. It’s my favorite time of year…although I love the spring, too, after the darkness of winter.

    Thanks, Bellezza. It’s lovely around here, so it’s easy to take pretty photos. And, yes, I’m very glad that the 80 degree temperature is gone! I don’t do well in the heat!

    Thanks, Nan. Yes, the photos are from our grounds. We live in a very small condo unit, in an older, small complex. Everyone that has moved here chose it because of the landscaping. It’s beautiful…and our unit also has greenbelt to the side and the back, so we think it’s particularly nice.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Lois

    Beautiful pictures, Robin, and a lovely poem to go with them. I think my mother was always forming words and pictures in her mind. Lois

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

