The Joy of That First Library Card


Yesterday at school, I found a library bag in my mailbox in the staff room. When I opened it, there were 27 little King Country Library cards on bracelets for my students. All the kids have to do is take their bracelet card to the library to be activated and they will have their own library card. They were thrilled! And I was very impressed that the library system (or at least our local branch) would put together this wonderful gift for all the second graders in the school. I remember my Dad telling us that 8 is the “age of responsibility.” My students (most of them turning 8 this year) were delighted to be told that they were old enough, and considered responsible enough, to be given their own library card by our neighborhood library. Isn’t that great?

16 thoughts on “The Joy of That First Library Card

  1. Gentle Reader

    That IS great! How great that the library makes the effort for those kids! I know the power of a library card–I remember my first library card! And my kids loved getting theirs–and that first pile of books they checked out on the first day

    Like

    Reply
  2. Chris

    That’s so cool! I remember getting my first library card and the thrill that went along with it. I felt so special. What a treat for your kids!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Lois

    I loved walking all by myself to our library where I grew up. The library was close but it felt so good to go by myself and get another Bobbsey Twin book. I was so proud as I walked up the rather long walkway into a beautifully kept library where I was always welcomed by a friendly librarian. Favorite memories.Lois

    Like

    Reply
  4. Nymeth

    It is great! I have been visiting the local library a lot lately, and it always makes me smile to see young children there. A library offers them so many possibilities.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Robin

    Jill, I agree. It’s such a nice thing to do. I talked with the librarian at our branch this afternoon, and she told me that it’s a program the gives library cards to ALL the second graders in the King County Library System area. That’s a huge number of excited and happy 2nd graders!

    Gentle Reader, my library card was my prized possession, too!

    Chris, it is really cool. I don’t know who thought it up, but it’s a wonderful program. Imagine how many very excited and happy 2nd graders there are this week!

    Hi Mom, your library memories are lovely. You know how important our library cards and library visits were to us, too.

    Iliana, if you can still find that treasure, you should post a photo of it. I’m sure it’s well worn and much loved!

    I agree, Nymeth. It’s wonderful to see kids enjoying the library these days when there are so many other things that keep them from reading.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Sam Houston

    I love it…what a great feeling for those kids.

    Some of my fondest childhood memories involve the excitement I felt when I climbed on my bicycle to ride the four miles to our little town library to see what I would find on the shelves that day. That’s a feeling that has stayed with me for the rest of my life and I was eight or nine when it first happened. Here’s hoping that most of your class will stay excited about books and reading forever.

    Cool.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Robin

    Hi Sam. I, too, hope they’ll develop a passion for reading that will last a lifetime! And I think being welcomed so nicely into this community of readers, with such a special gift, will go a long way to encourage the growth of that passion. The King County Library system is huge. I’ll have to get some statistics on how many 2nd graders we’re talking about here, but it’s a lot!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Nan -

    What a tremendous thing for the library to do! And those faces are just precious!! That is truly a wonderful grade to be teaching.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Robin

    Hi Tara. It was magic! I had them sitting on the rug in front of me when I showed them what the surprise was in the bag. I got to see those wonderful expressions–even on the kids that already had a library card.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Matt

    Library card on bracelet is a cute idea! I’ll have to suggest to my local library. How awesome the library makes a warm effort to reach out to the kids. Plant the seed for future readers. šŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply
  11. Robin

    Matt, I was really impressed to find out about this program for 2nd graders in the King County library system. They’ve been doing it for at least two years now, and I think it’s a wonderful idea.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

