A Reading Weekend

What a nice weekend we’ve had! I’ve been completely captured by Susan Hill’s A Woman in Black…very creepy and a wonderful read for Carl’s R.I.P. II challenge. I’m almost ready to crawl into bed tonight, listen to the rain on the roof, and finish the last few chapters of the book.

Also, our beautiful new bookcase arrived so we spent the afternoon rearranging furniture in our living room and loading favorite books onto the shelves. The bottom shelf is filled with books for the Grandboy since he can now crawl…and if he follows the family pattern, he’ll soon be pulling books of the shelves.

Tomorrow starts another week with my second graders. Things have settled down a lot in the last 2 weeks, and I’m enjoying being with the younger kids. We’ve almost finished Stuart Little, so I’m trying to decide what our next read aloud will be. So many wonderful books to choose from! Maybe Gooney Bird Greene, by my favorite author for young people, Lois Lowry?

I hope you all had as nice a weekend as we did!

16 thoughts on “A Reading Weekend

  1. jenclair

    Isn’t it nice to have someone to read to? And to share some of your favorite books with? You and your class look to be off to a good year.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Chris

    Ooh, a new bookshelf! Isn’t that fun? That’s so great that you’ve designated the bottom shelf for your grandson 🙂 Start ’em young! Glad to hear you had a nice weekend…mine would’ve been much better if The Saints wouldn’t have played so horribly again! *angry face*

    Like

    Reply
  3. Kay

    Robin, I’m happy to hear you had a good weekend and are getting enough rest after your busy two weeks. “Woman in Black” sounds quite interesting and I just found that my branch owns it. I’ll pick it up today. Good thinking for the grandboy books. Don’t you just love it when kids want to like books? Have a great week!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin

    Thanks, jenclair. It’s so nice to dig out those old family favorites and share them with another group of kids. The school year is already flying!

    Hi Chris, sorry about your Saints!

    Thanks, Kay. It was very helpful to have some time to rest up from 2 very intense weeks. It’s nice that things are settling into “normal” now, whatever that may be!

    Like

    Reply
  5. heather (errantdreams)

    Looking forward to hearing your impressions of Woman in Black! I’m envying your new bookcase—we could use a few more of those. =}

    Like

    Reply
  6. tanabata

    We had a very lazy weekend, nice as it’s still rather too hot to do much.
    A new bookshelf is exciting. You’ll have to post a picture if you get a chance. Have a good week!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Matt

    The second graders of yours are so lucky that someone reads aloud to them. I never had that privilege as my parents were busy with work. But they would get whatever books I asked for.

    Look forward to hearing about the new reads for the cuties. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  8. Bookfool

    I’ve never heard of this book, so I’ll look forward to hearing more about it. I loved it when teachers read to us, as a student. Almost none of the teachers read to my children (my youngest had a librarian who wouldn’t even let them touch the books; instead, she plugged in videos during library time!!!); it’s uplifting to know there are still wonderful teachers like you, out there! Congrats on the new bookshelf. Hope the grandboy isn’t a shredder. We had to put our books waaaaay up high or behind child-proof fences, for a time, with each of our kids.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Nymeth

    Arranging new bookshelves is so much fun! Hopefully I’ll be able to do that soon – I don’t have a house or a bookshelf here in Nottingham yet, but I already have 4 new books 😛

    I really want to read some Lois Lowry in the near future. Which book do you recommend I start with?

    Like

    Reply
  10. Robin

    Hi Heather,
    I don’t know about you, but we never have enough bookshelves! We’ve really been trying to sort through the books, donate a lot of them to the library, and get our collection to a reasonable size, but…I think it’s a losing battle.

    Oh, Tanabata, I feel for you suffering in that heat. This week is wet and cool, but the last two weeks have been scorchers, which is terribly difficult in the classroom. I hope you get a break from the heat soon!

    Hi Matt,
    That’s so nice of you to say. But I can’t imagine teaching without reading aloud! I guess I’ve always worked with a group of book-loving teachers in my career, because we have a different kind of “problem” on my staff–we have to meet every few years and agree to “save” certain books for reading aloud to each grade level. We have a very nice book discussion about which books would enrich each grade level, and then we agree to designate a couple of special books for reading aloud/study only at a certain grade levels.

    Hi Tara, I can’t take my eyes off this new bookcase, either. I love new bookcases, and this is right in the living room where I can enjoy looking at it all the time. We put our cookbooks on it, too, because it’s very close to the kitchen. What fun!

    You’re right, Bookfool, we’ll see if the Grandboy turns out to be a shredder, a chewer, or a tearer-upper! We may have to change our thinking about that bottom shelf!

    How nice to hear from you, Nymeth! I’m glad you found the most important thing in Nottingham–the bookstore or library! I’ll be curious to hear more about those 4 books, as well as your academic adventure!

    Like

    Reply
  11. Robin

    Nymeth–my favorite Lois Lowry books are her trilogy: The Giver, Gathering Blue, and Messenger. Gossamer is a beautifully written story, too…very dreamlike and poignant.

    Like

    Reply
  12. Matt

    I bet I would enjoy your reading class tremendously if I’m one of the 2nd graders.

    Reading aloud indeed helps focusing on the reading and improving vocabulary. I remembered reading passages from newspaper and magazines out loud when I first came to the US. My interest of reading must have rooted in that experience. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  13. Booklogged

    I love Lois Lowry, but didn’t realize she wrote books for that young or an audience. Clicked on your link and the cover looks very fun. Thanks for mentioning this. I feel like I’ve found a treasure.

    New bookcase – am happy for you.

    Like

    Reply
  14. Jill

    I don’t think I’ve ever had enough bookshelves. I really don’t!

    I hope you found Woman in Black to be as enjoyable as I found it. Creepy, evocative, really wonderfully done!

    Like

    Reply
  15. Robin

    Matt, that’s so nice of you to say. I agree with you that reading aloud is a very important part of learning to read (in any language), and is particularly important in expanding vocabulary (at any age). I would hope it helps create a passion for reading amongst my students. Passion is contagious, I believe.

    Booklogged, I hadn’t read the Gooney Bird books before, either, but my class and I are really enjoying the first one. It gets belly laughs out of them!

    Hi Jill, we’ve never had enough bookshelves, either! Even with this new one! By the way, I finally finished The Woman in Black, and just posted a little bit about it. Loved it!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

