Strange Happenings

No, “strange happenings” is not a description of my first week as teacher in a second grade classroom (although there were a few things this week that fit that description!). Strange Happenings is a fun and fantastical book by Avi, written for young adult readers. It’s a book of five stories about transformations. It was like reading dark fairy tales, and each story made an important point, without being preachy. I particularly liked the first story, which would be a great read for any young person that ever complained of being “bored.” The third story explained everything you might ever want to know (and more) about baseball mascots! I didn’t have this book on my list for Carl’s RIP,II challenge, but couldn’t resist a book with such a wonderful cover when I found it on the library shelf. It fits so perfectly with the challenge that I’m going to count it and recommend it highly. It was strange and eerie, and lots of fun. It’s short enough to read in an evening. I read one story a night, so it took me all week to finish it…but it’s been quite a week trying to keep up with those second graders!

11 thoughts on “Strange Happenings

  1. Nymeth

    I love the cover as well. This sounds like a wonderful book. I’ve been meaning to read Avi anyway so this would be a good start.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Nan -

    Robin, would you say it would make a good read-aloud to 7th and/or 8th graders? My husband is always on the lookout for a good one.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Stephanie

    Nymeth is right…the cover is fantastic!! I’m a sucker for a book with a good cover!! I really like YA books! My first RIP challege book was a YA one (I’m giving it away on my blog, in case you are interested!)

    Second graders! Yikes. I have one of those myself. I can’t imagine dealing with 20!! Good luck with that!

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin

    Nymeth, I enjoy the books I’ve read by Avi. He’s quite versatile, and writes all kinds of things. This one was a lot of fun. Another fantasy by him that I really liked was The Book Without Words.

    Nan, I do think 7th and 8th graders would enjoy it as a read aloud. It’s got that fun, quirky humor they would appreciate.

    Hi Stephanie, I really enjoy reading YA books, too, and this one was very enjoyable. Thanks for the good luck wishes with my 27 second graders!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Bookfool

    The cover is lovely. I’ve actually had this book on my wish list for a year, now – ever since Carl recommended it. No luck, yet, but I’ll find it one day. Glad to know you enjoyed it.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Robin

    Thanks, Heather. The teaching is going well, and I’m enjoying this change from the older kids to the younger kids, although I loved teaching the 6th graders. It was time for a change, and I find it uplifting.

    Hi Bookfool. With a cover as nice as this one, the book will grab a lot of readers that just run into on the library shelves! But it was well worth reading.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Robin

    Hi Booklogged. I thought it was a lot of fun, very imaginative, so I hope you enjoy it, too. It’s a perfect read for Carl’s challenge.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

