Another Challenge!

This Book-To-Movie Challenge has been calling to me for quite awhile, so since this is my week for taking on new challenges, I decided to sign up for just one more challenge for Fall. This fun one is being hosted by Callista, at S.M.S. Book Reviews, and runs from September 1st to December 1st. You have to read at least 3 books which have also been made into movies. I love the connections between books and film, so this is right up my alley. I can’t resist! So my choices are: 

The African Queen, by C.S. Forster. This is a book I’ve been wanting to read for a long time now, and because the film is one of my favorites.

Our Man in Havana, by Graham Greene. I’m also reading this for Carl’s R.I.P. II Challenge, so I thought it could do double-duty. I remember seeing this film ages ago, so I’ll read it again before B and I put it on our queue.

Evening, by Susan Minot. This book has been on my shelf for years, haven’t seen the movie yet, and the DVD is coming out in September. Time to read it!

10 thoughts on “Another Challenge!

  1. Matt

    Whew! Another challenge. I know it’s been calling me as well since some of you have been mentioning it. I’ll have to come up with a list. A local bookstore has a “movie-tie-in” section so it’s probably not too difficult to come up with a few. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Nymeth

    I’m glad you’re also joining this one, Robin. I haven’t read any of your choices yet. I look forward to your reviews!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Cath

    I’m doing this one too. Look forward to your reviews. I had absolutely no idea The African Queen was a book as well as a movie. And the only Graham Greene I’ve read is Travels With My Aunt so it’ll be interesting to hear about Our Man in Havana.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Bookfool

    I read The African Queen as part of the Classics Challenge, earlier this year, and enjoyed it. I love the movie, too. They’re different, of course, in many ways – the movie ending is much better than the book, IMHO. I always find it rather fascinating what is kept or tossed out when books are turned to movies.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Robin

    Matt, “whew!” is right! For someone that doesn’t consider herself a joiner, I’ve sure joined a lot this week. I just couldn’t resist either challenge.

    Nymeth, I resisted for a little while, but it was too good to pass up. I love books and film, so what was I waiting for?

    Cath, I’m glad you’re doing this challenge, too. I’ve been interested in reading The African Queen for a couple of years now. And I’ve never read any Graham Greene, but decided it was about time. I’ve heard such good things.

    Bookfool, I’m glad you enjoyed The African Queen. I’m curious about the differences between the book and the film. I always tend to prefer the book, but the film has been a lifelong favorite for me, so we’ll see which I like better.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Callista

    Thanks for participating in the Book to Movie Challenge. I must be really behind on my movies because most people have listed books that I’ve never heard of as books OR movies.

    Like

    Reply
  7. iliana

    I’m contemplating doing this one as well especially after I saw “Evening”. I really enjoyed the movie and the scenery was wonderful. I’m so curious how it compares to the book. Good luck Robin!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Robin

    Hi Callista, thanks for hosting the challenge. It’s a great idea. I’ve been enjoying looking at everyone’s choices. There are quite a few that I didn’t know about, either!

    Thanks, Iliana. This seemed like such a do-able challenge, I just couldn’t resist. I’m glad you liked the movie version of Evening. I’m looking forward to reading it AND to seeing the movie.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Alyson

    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on the African Queen. It is one of my favorite classic movies! To be honest, I didn’t even know it was a book.

    Like

    Reply
  10. Robin

    Hi Alyson, I didn’t realize it was a book, either, until I ran across it at our Barnes & Noble one day about a year ago. I was so surprised, but decided I would definitely read the book since the movie is such a favorite.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

