Connie Willis

At the library yesterday I picked up a small book by Connie Willis, called Inside Job. It was “a tale of spiritualists, séances, skeptics, and a love that just might be able to rise above it all.” It’s actually a Hugo Award-winning novella, and was a quick, enjoyable read. I like Connie Willis and everything I’ve read by her. Being a Medieval history buff (from teaching the Middle Ages to 6th graders), I loved her Doomsday Book, which deals with time travel and the Bubonic Plague. I found Lincoln’s Dreams fascinating, and loved the humor of Bellwether, but my favorite of her books so far is Passage, which deals with near-death experiences.

Connie Willis an an idea person, and a much-honored writer. She’s been awarded 9 Hugo Awards, and 6 Nebula Awards. Nancy Pearl really likes her, too, which is high praise in my book. She interviewed her in May 2007, and it’s a fun interview to watch. You can see the entire interview by going to the Seattle Channel/Book Lust interviews web site. I don’t read a lot of science fiction (although I enjoy it when I do), but I really enjoy reading Connie Willis’s books.

7 thoughts on “Connie Willis

  1. Jill

    Robin: I *heartily* recommend To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis. Very funny. Her collection of Christmas stories is also rather fun (although I can’t at this moment recall the title for it).

    Like

    Reply
  2. Nymeth

    I’ve been meaning to read more science fiction – I’ll keep the name of this author in mind. I really like the sound of “Doomsday Books”.

    Like

    Reply
  3. jenclair

    Loved To Say Nothing of the Dog and put Doomsday Book on my list a few days ago, but now I want to read even more by Willis! Thanks for the links.

    Like

    Reply
  4. iliana

    Adding the novella to my list! I just discovered Willis during the Once Upon a Time Challenge and absolutely loved To Say Nothing of the Dog.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Robin

    Nymeth, I think you’d like Doomsday Book. It’s been quite awhile since I read it, but I loved it when I did. And her other book, Passage, was a page turner. I couldn’t put it down.

    Jill, Jenclair and Iliana–based on the fact that you all loved this book, I’m going to read To Say Nothing of the Dog soon!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Bookfool

    I’ve never even heard of Connie Willis, but your descriptions have piqued my interest. I’ll go look her up, thanks!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

