All Ready and Waiting…


I’ve finished listening to all the Harry Potter audiobooks, read by the incredibly talented Jim Dale, in preparation for the release of the new book in 15 days. (I listened to the books this time since I’ve already reread them.) And over the last two weeks, B and I have again watched the DVDs of the first four movies, just finishing the last one yesterday afternoon while staying out of the heat and 4th of July crowds. We are all ready now and just waiting for the release of the movie next week, and then the final book the following week. All ready and waiting…!

8 thoughts on “All Ready and Waiting…

  1. Gentle Reader

    I love the talented Jim Dale, too! My kids and I have spent hours in the car enthralled by the Harry Potter audiobooks. And we can’t wait for the movie and the next book here, too. My son is re-reading Order of the Phoenix madly before the movie release!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Kay

    I’ve done the same in preparation. I finished the books on CD about a month ago and watched the movies in the last few weeks. I really can’t wait. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who has been preparing!?!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin

    Gentle Reader,
    I love listening in the car! I’m going to have to check out some of Jim Dale’s other audiobooks. I’m trying to track down the audiobook of Peter and the Star Catchers because so many of my students were reading it. I’d love to listen to him read it.

    Kay, we’re definitely not alone!

    Like

    Reply
  4. tanabata

    I plan to watch Goblet of Fire tomorrow, then start reading Order of the Phoenix. Hopefully I’ll have just enough time to finish reading the last 2 before the 21st.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Nymeth

    I am waiting anxiously as well. I have to re-read Half Blood Prince in preparation still.

    I’m going to be thrilled when I finally have the last book in my hands, but at the same time, it’s going to be so sad.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Robin

    Tanabata, your timing on rereading the books sounds perfect. It will make reading that last book so much better…I thought the Half Blood Prince had sooo much in it of importance to the end of the story.

    Nymeth, I agree that we’ll all be sad when the series ends. I remember feeling such a loss when I completed the Lord of the Rings the first time. I’ve revisited it numerous times since then in book, audiobook, and film form…but it’s not quite the same.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Bellezza

    Are you going to a release party at midnight, or just waiting for Amazon to send it to as I am? I’ve never attended a party, I think the crowd would be too much!

    Like

    Reply
  8. Robin

    Hi Bellezza,
    No, I can’t stay up that late and be surrounded by the multitudes at that hour! I ordered my copy from our local bookshop, and I’ll pick it up that morning when they open.

    The movie release is for “night owls,” too! Seattle has a special showing of the movie at midnight, another showing at 3:00 in the morning (!), and then one at 7:00 in the morning. I’m excited, but not as much as those that will be at those showings! I’ll wait a couple of days…but not long!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

