A Sense of Place

Maggie, who is hosting Southern Reading Challenge, has just announced a little contest for those of us participating in the challenge. We are supposed to pick out a passage from one of our Southern reads, that depicts a “sense of place,” and then either take a photo or find a picture on the internet that goes well with the passage. I couldn’t resist! It’s been an incredibly busy week for me, and haven’t started on my next read yet, so I went back to To Kill a Mockingbird and found a passage I thought fit perfectly with this challenge, since Maggie has been sending pecans to the winners of her random weekly drawings!

7 thoughts on “A Sense of Place

  1. Robin

    Thanks, Maggie! I liked the quote and went looking for pecan tree pictures, since there aren’t any around here to photograph. It’ll be fun to see what other people come up with, too!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Nymeth

    Great choice of passage/picture! I’m still not sure what to pick, but it will probably be something out of “To Kill a Mockingbird” too, as that was the book where I felt the sense of place more strongly.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Robin

    Hi Nymeth, There’s a lot to choose from in To Kill a Mockingbird. I keep going back to it for many different reasons.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Gentle Reader

    Great picture and love the quote, too. I’m planning to read To Kill a Mockingbird again, too, so it’s nice to get a preview!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Robin

    Booklogged and Gentle Reader,
    I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I look forward to your reviews when you finish!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

