One Writer’s Beginnings: Learning To See

Eurdora Welty photographed by Jill Krementz

An insightful idea from the second section of Eudora Welty’s book, One Writer’s Beginnings, called “Learning To See”:

The events in our lives happen in a sequence in time, but in the significance to ourselves they find their own order, a timetable not necessarily–perhaps not possibly–chronological. The time as we know it subjectively is often the chronology that stories and novels follow: It is the continuous thread of revelation.

5 thoughts on “One Writer’s Beginnings: Learning To See

  1. Gentle Reader

    I’m loving what you’ve written and shared about this book. I’ll have to get it, because I’m going to be reading Welty’s Delta Wedding for the Southern Reading Challenge. Thanks for the beautiful photo, too!

    And I’m tagging you for yet another meme. This one’s really easy–details on my blog. And don’t worry if you don’t want to do it, no pressure!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Robin

    G.R., Isn’t that a wonderful photo! As I was reading today, I remembered seeing that photo and how lovely it was, so I went searching. I’d forgotten that it was part of a book on writer’s spaces. I checked our library website, and they have it, so I put it on hold.

    Also, I read the rules for the meme, and chuckled because the book closest to me at the moment was One Writer’s Beginnings, and it only has 104 pages! So I went to the second book in the pile, and here is the 5th sentence on page 161: “IT GOES LIKE THIS.” So I decided I was out of luck and gave up on this meme. Sorry!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

