Thoughts from Precious Ramotswe…

The world, Mma Ramotswe believed, was composed of big things and small things. The big things were written large, and one could not but be aware of them–wars, oppression, the familiar theft by the rich and the strong of those simple things that the poor needed, those scraps which would make their life more bearable; this happened, and could make even the reading of a newspaper an exercise in sorrow. There were all those unkindnesses, palpable, daily, so easily avoidable; but one could not think just of those, thought Mma Ramotswe, or one would spend one’s time in tears–and the unkindnesses would continue. So the small things came into their own: small acts of helping others, if one could; small ways of making one’s own life better: acts of love, acts of tea, acts of laughter. Clever people might laugh at such simplicity, but she asked herself, what was their own solution?

6 thoughts on “Thoughts from Precious Ramotswe…

  1. Nan

    Wonderful, wonderful words! I believe that reading the news and watching it on tv is indeed “an exercise in sorrow.” I haven’t done either one for a very long time. I found it was eating away my soul and spirit. I cannot help the horrors in the world and it doesn’t do my inner self any good to hear of them. I can only operate in my own sphere, do my very best, try to be peaceful inside and in my dealings with others, try and lead with love and kindness in all conversations. It is what I can do and I pray it is enough. And, I’m reading this book right now too!

    Like

    Reply
  2. lc

    I love what you quoted from this book, Robin. Nan’s comment was beautfully said. Reading is a good way to escape the ugly sights we are exposed to daily. With my head in a book, I can be spared the overkill.

    Like

    Reply
  3. rampant bicycle

    Precious Ramotswe is a wise, wise woman. 😉 I need to catch up on her adventures!

    Your quest for gentle books reminds me – have you read Nancy Atherton’s Aunt Dimity books? Start with Aunt Dimity’s Death…they’re sweet little books, and very gentle indeed. I read the first one at a tough time and found it consoling, somehow.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Robin

    Nan, you expressed so beautifully exactly the way I feel. Thanks.

    LC, yes, my reading is an escape from the negatives we are surrounded by, and is also a search for the more positive things, like hope, creativity, kindness and uplifting words.

    R.B., I listened to the audiobook of the first Aunt Dimity a few years ago and loved it. You’ve reminded me of how much I enjoyed it…I need to get back to that series! Thanks!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

