Adrift


Since finishing Out of Africa on Thursday, I have been adrift. I didn’t expect the emotional aftereffects of this book. Yes, I loved it as I read it. Yes, I’ve many times experienced that mourning period we all know after completing a really good book. But this time the feeling is a little different. This time, instead of wanting the book to continue on, or feeling the need to instantly read all her other books, my feeling is that the book is done, the story complete, and I am satisfied (perhaps “sated” is a better description). Interestingly, now that I am no longer immersed in her words, the full impact of her world and her life is soaking in, slowly being absorbed into a deeper level of my being. I didn’t expect that, and it’s a very moving experience.

Leave a Reply

