BOOK FRIENDS


One winter afternoon, a long time ago, I was reading Anna Karenina when my Dad walked by. He stopped briefly just to tell me something I’ve never forgotten. He told me that I would never be lonely because I had such good friends in books. He was right. I seldom feel lonely, although I miss loved ones and friends when we are away from each other. But my quiet times are filled with book friends, constant and loyal. New friends are welcomed with delight, and old friends are revisited at different ages and stages of my life. I always learn something new about myself through my book friends. We are fellow travelers. They are my guides.

You can date the evolving life of a mind, like the age of a tree, by the rings of friendship formed by the expanding central truck. In the course of my life, not love or marriage so much as friendship has promoted growth.
–Mary McCarthy

This statement is mostly true about the impact of people friendships in my life. But it is very true about my book friends.

Leave a Reply

