Dewey’s Knit-A-Long and a School Holiday

“On the needles” for my first project for Dewey’s Knit-A-Long is a very colorful scarf and hat. The scarf is made with giant needles (size 19!), so it’s not taking too long to finish, even for a busy second grade teacher. The hat may take me a little longer. It’s knit on smaller needles, and I’ll have to use double pointed needles to shape the crown. Never used DPNs before, but have been wanting to learn! It’s all an adventure, Chris!

While knitting, I’ve also been listening to the audiobook, A Wizard of Earthsea, by Ursula K. Le Guin, which I picked up at the library last week. It’s read by one of my favorite narrators, Rob Ingles, who also narrated the audiobook versions of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, and it is wonderful to listen to while knitting! What a wonderful reader! So, with no school today in celebration of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., I am certainly enjoying my knitting/listening time!

17 thoughts on “Dewey’s Knit-A-Long and a School Holiday

  1. What a beautiful scarf Robin!! You’re quite talented ma’am! Hope you enjoyed your day off. Sounds like you spent it perfectly.

  2. Beautiful scarf Robin. Very vibrant. I am finishing a scarf too. It’s not nearly as colorful as yours but it is soft like butter.

  3. Thanks, Nymeth, J.Danger, Chris, and Petunia! It was a nice day off, and I enjoyed the knitting while listening to a really good book!

    Petunia, this yarn is colorful and I really enjoy working on it, but it’s not as soft as butter. That would be heavenly!

  4. What a gorgeous scarf! Love that yarn. I’m so thrilled that everyone is “knitting along” for Dewey–such a great project.

  5. That’s gorgeous! I’d never knit with double-pointed needles before either, but it turned out to be pretty simple, as long as I didn’t ove-rthink it, lol. :)

  6. I’m going to knit a scarf next week for this challenge and will be listening to some audio books at the same time too.
    Lovely colours ;0)

  7. Thanks, Gentle Reader. I’m delighted with the response to the knit-a-long!

    Thanks, Eva. I’ll get brave and learn how to use those dp needles!

    Thanks, Stephanie! I’d love to see a picture of the baby blanket! Let me know when you post it.

    Thanks, Lynda. Enjoy your scarf knitting and your audio book next week! What are you going to listen to?

  8. Your email link in your profile doesn’t seem to be working. I just wanted to let you know that I am signed up for the book challenge, as well as the mini-challenge KAL, but I have deleted the blog I was (barely) using and moved everything to my main blog. I am signed up under http://igireads.blogspot.com, and you can now find me at http://igiknits.blogspot.com. (i haven’t actually posted any updates on my mini-challenge project – yet)
    SO, I just wanted to let you know.

    Lovely scarf, btw!

  9. Hi Igi, Thanks for letting me know the email link doesn’t work. I changed your info on the Dewey’s Books site, so that link now goes to your very nice knitting blog. I’ll have to figure out what’s going on with the email link.

  10. I love knitting with giant needles for the same reason – its quick, but the knitting also feels hearty and chunky and I like that too. Love the colours also. I like that you share with us stuff about knitting, books and other parts of your life. Which is why I’ve nominated you for the Premio Dardos Award for expressing yourself through your blog. If you’re interested, check out my blog for more details. Good luck with the hat!

  11. Tamara, thank you so much for the award!!

    Thanks, Mari! It was fun to knit up so fast. It usually takes me forever to finish a project.

  12. That is absolutely gorgeous yarn and oh my!…size 19 needles! I bet that has gone fast. I think an audio book to listen to while knitting is a perfect idea.
    *smiles*
    Kim

  13. Thanks, Kim. Yes, the #19 needles were amazing. It knit up really fast after I figured out how to hold onto those thing!

Leave a Reply

